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IN THE COURT OF COUNTY, ALABAMA
STATE OF ALABAMA v.

The Defendant appears in court for sentencing with counsel. . and having pled or
been found guilty. is adjudicated guilty of . under
Section . Code of Alabama 1975, as charged/embraced/amended in Count of the Information/Indictment.
A Presentence Report [] is considered by the Court Ois waived [ will be considered at probation hearing.
Having been given an opportunity to say why sentence should not now be imposed. the Defendant is hereby sentenced o a
term of months (includes enhancements where applicable) in the custody of :
[ Department of Corrections [0 Community Corrections [ County Jail.
The Defendant shall be given O days jail credit [ jail credit in an amount certified by the Court Clerk.
The sentence shall run Cconsecutively  Cconcurrently, with
I. SENTENCE LENGTH DETERMINATION
A. This is a sentencing event covered by the sentencing standards. Cyves ONo

1. If no. go to paragraph B.

2. If yes. the Court has considered the worksheet recommendations. [Yes [ONo

3. The recommended sentence disposition is OJ Prison [ Non-Prison.

4. The recommended sentence length is to months (total): to months (incarceration

portion, if split).

B. Because this sentence is not imposed under the sentencing standards, the following enhancements apply and were
incorporated in the sentence imposed above:
1. OHabitual Offender Act: the Court finds the Defendant has been duly convicted of prior adult felony
offense(s) and had reasonable notice of the State's intention to seek enhancement under this Act
2. 5 years for the Sale of Drugs within 3 miles of a school
3. 05 years for the Sale of Drugs within 3 miles of a housing project
4. OFirearm or Deadly Weapon enhancement
5.0
II. COURT COSTS, FINES, ASSESSMENTS, FEES & RESTITUTION
A. The Defendant shall pay to the Court Clerk:
CICourt Costs.
OFine of $ .
[CJAlabama Crime Vietims Compensation Assessment of $ .
OAppointed Attorney Fees of [1$ O in an amount to be determined.
CIRestitution (jointly & severally with any co-defendant) to
ofd% O in an amount to be determined by further hearing on
O
B. The following are remitted:
III. (] DRUG OFFENSE — The Defendant shall surrender all Driver's Licenses to the Department of Public Safety for
suspension. pay CRO Fees. successfully complete a Substance Abuse Program. pay the Forensic Science Trust Fund fee of
$100. and pay the Drug Demand Reduction Assessment of $_ .000 which may be suspended pursuant to Section 13A-12-
284, Code of Alabama 1975.
IV. PAYMENT
A. The full amount shall be paid: [J in full by O in installments in the amount of § each
month with the first payment on and on or before the same day each month thereafter.
B. Payment shall be a condition of probation, parole. community corrections, work release. SIR., SRP or any other
release program.
C. ADOC or the Sheriff. if the inmate is incarcerated in the county jail. shall collect monthly % of the inmate’s
institutional account and forward payments to the Court Clerk at least once every three months.
D. [ Court Clerk shall apply payments to restitution first.

V. OAPPLICATION FOR PROBATION is set for a hearing on . Imposition of this sentence is
hereby suspended and the Defendant is continued on the Cdsame [I$ bond until the hearing. A pre-sentence
investigation report [J shall [ shall not be prepared.

DONE and ORDERED (date) JUDGE
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VI. DISPOSITION
[J This is a straight sentence to be served.
O This sentence is suspended. The Defendant is placed on straight probation for a term of months.

The Defendant shall abide by all conditions. rules and regulations of the supervising agency and those specifically noted
in this Order.

This probation shall be supervised by:
[ state Probation []Community Corrections [] [ Unsupervised.

[0 This is a split sentence. The Defendant shall serve a term of months, in the:

[0 Department of Corrections [] Community Corrections [ County Jail O

beginning on .
[0 The Court may reconsider the split portion of this sentence after the defendant completes

[0 ADOC Substance Abuse Program O
Following incarceration, the unserved portion of the sentence shall be suspended and the defendant shall be placed on
probation for a term of months.

The Defendant shall abide by all conditions. rules and regulations of the supervising agency and those noted in this
Order.

This probation shall be supervised by:
[ state Probation [] Community Corrections [] [ Unsupervised.

VIL SPECIAL CONDITIONS
The Defendant shall fulfill every item marked as a special condition of probation. community corrections or other
such program.
[0 Enroll in. cooperate fully with, and successfully complete all of the following marked programs as directed by any
supervising agency. and file proof of completion with the supervising agency:

[] Anger Management Training [ Parenting Skills Training
[ Domestic Violence [ Sex Offender Evaluation /Treatment
Education/Treatment

[JLife Skills Training [J substance Abuse Evaluation/Treatment
[J Mental Health Evaluation/Treatment O

[0 Avoid initiating any contact with

O complete hours of community service at

O

VIII. APPEAL
The Defendant pled guilty and for appeal [Jdid not reserve any issues [Dreserved these issues:

IX. DISTRIBUTION OF COPIES
If the conviction is a sentencing standards worksheet offense (see I.A.). the Court Clerk shall forward to the Alabama

Sentencing Commission within 45 days of this Order a copy of this Sentencing Order and a copy of the Sentencing
Standards worksheet in this case.

The Court Clerk shall provide a copy of this Sentencing Order to counsel for all parties.

DONE and ORDERED (date) . JUDGE




I. The Sentencing Process’

A. Principles of Sentencing - ARCrP 26.8

The Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure defines the criteria judges should use when
determining a defendant’s sentence:

The sentence imposed in each case should call for the least restrictive sanction
that is consistent with the protection of the public and the gravity of the crime.
In determining the sentence, the court should evaluate the crime and its
consequences, as well as the background and record of the defendant and give
serious consideration to the goal of sentencing equality and the need to avoid
unwarranted disparities.

Judges should be sensitive to the impact their sentences have on all components
of the criminal justice system and should consider alternatives to long-term
institutional confinement or incarceration in cases involving offenders whom
the court deems to pose no serious danger to society.

ARCrIP 26.8.

In addition, in its comments to rule 26.8, the Advisory Committee notes the essential role
judges play in reducing the impact of prison overcrowding:

Prison overcrowding has significantly frustrated the criminal justice system in
Alabama as well as most other states. Sentencing judges generally can only
speculate as to what their sentences mean. This uncertainty operates to
undermine the credibility of the sentencing process.

For appropriate defendants, judges are encouraged to fashion sentences utilizing
alternatives other than basic probation and long-term institutional confinement.
Although the alternatives presently available will vary to some degree,
depending on the sentencing court's location, some alternatives include the
following: a split sentence pursuant to Ala. Code 1975, § 15-18-8 (through
judicial innovation § 15-18-8 has also been used to impose what is referred to as
a “reverse” split sentence, wherein the defendant is sentenced to serve the
probationary portion of the sentence first, followed by a period of incarceration;
since the judge retains jurisdiction, the period of incarceration can be suspended
to reward the defendant for successfully completing probation); fines, court
costs, and restitution; drug and alcohol rehabilitation programs; . . . community
service; work release; responsibility to community restitution centers; house
arrest; and electronic monitoring.

! Procedures for sentencing are governed by Rule 26 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure.
Citations from ARCrP are from Westlaw and are current through amendments of June 1, 2010.



Effective utilization of well planned alternatives to incarceration will:

1.

ARCrP 26.8 cmts.

Preserve scarce prison bed-space for habitual offenders and others
from whom society needs protection.

Save the state the cost of incarceration, estimated to be approximately
$14,000 per year, and the cost of new prison construction.

Frequently permit the offender to remain employed and thereby enable
him to earn funds to pay fines, restitution, and court costs, as well as to
support his family.

Frequently permit the offender who is a drug or alcohol abuser to
obtain treatment for such abuse and thereby remove the reason for his
criminal behavior.

More likely result in the defendant's rehabilitation than incarceration.
Prisons serve as training camps for crime, especially for young
offenders.

Tend to diminish disparity in sentencing. Judges who have alternatives
available to them are likely to move to the middle ground provided by
the alternatives, whereas judges who must choose between the
extremes of incarceration or probation, when they choose differently,
create the perception of disparity.

B. Plea Agreements - ARCrP 14.3,14.4

While a defendant may enter a guilty plea with no agreement with the prosecutor as to
sentence (a “blind” plea), a plea agreement may include provisions that the prosecutor
will “recommend (or will not oppose) the imposition or suspension of a particular
sentence.” ARCrP 14.3(a).

e The agreement must be disclosed in open court at the time the plea is offered.
ARCIP 14.3(b). The defendant must be informed of the minimum and maximum
sentences available, including enhancements, and whether the agreed sentence
will run consecutively or concurrently with sentences in prior or concurrent
convictions. Hatfield v. State, 29 So. 3d 241 (Ala. Crim. App. 2009); Dooley v.
State, 26 So. 3d 499 (Ala. Crim. App. 2009); Taylor v. State, 846 So. 2d 1111,
(Ala. Crim. App. 2002).

e The court, after the full guilty plea colloquy as required by ARCrP 14.4, may
accept the agreement and sentence the defendant accordingly. ARCrP (3)(c)(1).



e The court may reject the agreement and

o
o

Inform the parties the agreement is not accepted.

Advise the parties in open court, the court is not bound by the agreement
as to sentence.

Advise the defendant the sentence may be more or less than the
agreement.

Allow the defendant to withdraw the plea.

Afford the prosecutor an opportunity to renegotiate and, with the
defendant’s consent, amend the agreement.

ARCrP 14.3(c) (i-vi)

A defendant must be allowed to withdraw a guilty plea when the sentence imposed is not
in accordance with the agreement or amended agreement. Andrews v. State, 12 So. 3d
728 (Ala. Crim. App. 2009); Nelson v. State, 866 So. 2d 594 (Ala. Crim. App. 2002).

C. Presentence Investigation Reports (PSl) - ARCrP 26.3

e For all offenses, a court may require a presentence report if the court has
discretion over the sentence or if the court has authority to suspend the sentence.
ARCIP 26.3(a)(1).

¢ In felony cases, either a presentence or postsentence investigation report must be
prepared, and this report must be in an electronic format. In addition, either party
may move to require a presentence investigation report, and the defendant shall
not be sentenced before the court considers the report. 8 13A-5-5 (as amended by
Act 2006-218).

e The PSI may include the following:

1.

o

the offense and the circumstances surrounding it;

2. the defendant’s prior criminal and juvenile record, if any;
3.
4. the defendant’s employment background, financial condition, and military

the defendant’s educational background:;

record, if any;
the defendant’s social history, including family relationships;

marital status, interests, and activities, residence history, and religious
affiliations;

7. the defendant’s medical and psychological history, if available;

Victim Impact Statements; and

9. any other information required by the court. ARCrP 26.3(b).



A PSI should be prepared only after a determination of guilt, except in cases
where a defendant intends to plead guilty and requests a PSI prior to the plea
hearing. ARCrP 26.3 cmts.

PSI reports are not public. ARCrP 26.5(c).

A Perfunctory PSI report that does not attempt to subjectively evaluate the
defendant is grounds for appealing a sentence. Guthrie v. State, 689 So. 2d 935,
947 (Ala. Crim. App. 1996); Ex parte Washington, _So. 3d__, 2011 WL
1449032, *6 (Ala. 2011) (dictum).

D. Sentence Hearing - ARCrP 26.6

For felony offenses, the court must conduct a sentence hearing unless, (1) the
court has no discretion as to the penalty to be imposed and no power to suspend
execution of the sentence or (2) a hearing is waived by the parties with the
consent of the court. ARCrP 26.6(b)(1).

If a PSI is required, the sentence hearing cannot be held until copies have been
made available or furnished to the court and parties. ARCrP 26.6(b)(1).

Any evidence the court deems to have probative value in sentencing may be
presented at the hearing. Disputed evidence must be proved by a preponderance
of the evidence. Rules of evidence do not apply. ARCrP 26.6(b)(2).

If a hearing is necessary to establish prior convictions in a case involving the
Habitual Felony Offender Act, the state is required to give reasonable notice to
the defendant and assumes the burden of proof to show prior convictions.
Disputed facts must be proved beyond a reasonable doubt. Convictions from
other jurisdiction can be used for enhancement if they would have been a felony
under Alabama law on or after January 1, 1980. Federal crimes are considered a
felony conviction if punishable by imprisonment in excess of one year under
federal law, even if not punishable under Alabama law. ARCrP 26.3. For more
on the Habitual Felony Offender Act, see infra Section 11.B.3.

Prior to sentencing, in covered cases, the trial judge must review the Initial
Voluntary Sentencing Standards worksheet and recommended sentence and in
“imposing sentence, indicate on the record that the worksheet and applicable
sentencing standards have been reviewed and considered.” § 12-25-35(b).



E. Pronouncement of Judgment and Sentence - ARCrP 26.9

The pronouncement of judgment must be announced in open court and must
reflect the plea, verdict, findings, if any, and the adjudication. ARCrP 26.9(a).

The judgment of guilt and the sentence should be pronounced at the same time.
ARCrP 26.2.

When pronouncing the sentence the court must do the following, per ARCrP
26.9(b):

o Allow the defendant to make a statement on his own behalf. This right to
allocution exists regardless of the gravity of the offense. Davis v. State,
747 So. 2d 921, 925 (Ala. Crim. App. 1999).

o0 Indicate on the record that the Initial Voluntary Sentencing Standards
worksheet and sentencing recommendation have been reviewed and
considered. § 12-25-35(b).

o State that the defendant will receive credit on the sentence for time
incarcerated on the charge. The circuit or district clerk must certify the
actual time spent incarcerated using forms prescribed by the Alabama
Department of Corrections.

0 Explain the terms of the sentence, which must include the terms of
probation, the length and order of sentences, and whether the sentences
will be served consecutively or concurrently. ARCrP 26.9 cmts.

o Inform the defendant of the right to appeal® and that, for an indigent
defendant, the court will appoint an attorney and provide a copy of the
record and recorder’s transcript at no cost.

Although Rule 26.2 of ARCrP expresses a preference that the judgment of guilt
and the sentence be pronounced at the same time, the Court of Criminal Appeals
held that simultaneous in-court pronouncement of judgment and sentence are not
required. Edwards v. State, 505 So. 2d 1297 (Ala. Crim. App. 1987).

The trial court loses its jurisdiction to modify a defendant’s sentence 30 days after
pronouncing the sentence, except a court can change a consecutive sentence to a
concurrent sentence at any time. Ex parte Hitt, 778 So. 2d 159, 162 (Ala. 2000)
(inferring from APCrP 24.2); Moore v. State, 814 So. 2d 308, 310 (Ala. Crim.
App. 2001).

2 Except when a defendant enters a guilty plea. In that case, the court is required to advise the defendant
that he has a right to appeal, “only in cases in which the defendant (i) has entered a plea of guilty, but
before entering the plea of guilty has expressly reserved his or her right to appeal with respect to a
particular issue or issues, or (ii) has timely filed a motion to withdraw the plea of guilty and the motion has
been denied, either by order of the court or by operation of law.” ARCrP 26.9(b)(4). This exception does
not apply to de novo appeals. Ex parte Sorsby, 12 So. 3rd 139 (Ala. 2007).



F. Youthful Offender Adjudications - Ala. Code § 15-19-1

Grant of Youthful Offender (YO) Status

e Available, after a hearing, for defendants who committed a crime when under the
age of 21. Ala. Code 8§ 15-19-1.

e The defendant must consent to the hearing and to a trial before the judge without
ajury.

e If Youthful Offender is granted, no further action is taken on the original
indictment or information and all records are closed unless access is approved by
the court.

e Act 2012-465 adds additional requirements for notice to the victim for
participation in the determination hearing if the offense involves as an element or
allegations that the defendant intentionally caused serious physical injury or
intentionally Kkilled the victim. See Ala. Code § 15-19-1(c).

e “[T]he seriousness of a charge alone is not a sufficient basis on which to deny YO
status but that the nature of the facts on which the charge rests may alone be
sufficient to deny YO status.”

e “In determining whether to treat a defendant as a youthful offender, the trial court
has nearly absolute discretion. There is no set method for considering a motion
requesting such treatment. However, the Youthful Offender Act requires that the
court conduct a factual investigation into the defendant's background. Generally,
the trial court considers the nature of the crime charged, any prior convictions, the
defendant's age, and any other matters deemed relevant by the court. Moreover,
the trial court need not articulate on the record its reasons for denying the
defendant youthful offender status.” Flowers v. State, 922 So. 2d 938 (Ala. Crim.
App. 2005).

Sentence

“(a) If a person is adjudged a youthful offender and the underlying charge is a
felony, the court shall: (1) Suspend the imposition or execution of sentence with or
without probation; (2) Place the defendant on probation for a period not to exceed
three years; (3) Impose a fine as provided by law for the offense with or without
probation or commitment; (4) Commit the defendant to the custody of the Alabama
Department of Corrections for a term of three years or a lesser term.

(b) Where a sentence of fine is not otherwise authorized by law, then, in lieu of or
in addition to any of the dispositions authorized in this section, the court may
impose a fine of not more than $1,000.00. In imposing a fine the court may
authorize its payment in installments.” Ala. Code § 15-19-6.



G. Post Conviction Review - Rule 32 Petitions

For information on Rule 32 Petitions, go to the Alabama Sentencing Commission’s
website at http://sentencingcommission.alacourt.gov/Publications/Rule 32_2008.pdf

H. Collateral Consequences of a Felony Sentence

In addition to the punishment imposed by courts at sentencing, state and federal laws
prescribe numerous consequential prohibitions for those convicted of felonies.

State Prohibitions for Felons:

e Voting (Ala. Const. art VIII, § 177; Ala. Code 8§ 15-22-36.1)

(0]

(0]

Felons convicted of crimes involving moral turpitude are not qualified to
vote until restoration of civil and political rights.

§ 15-22-36.1 provides a special procedure for restoration of voting rights
under certain circumstances for felons who have not been convicted of
treason, impeachment, murder, rape, sodomy, sexual abuse, incest, sexual
torture, enticing a child to enter a vehicle for immoral purposes, soliciting
a child by computer, production of obscene matter involving a minor,
production of obscene matter, parents or guardians permitting children to
engage in obscene matter, possession of obscene matter, or possession
with intent to distribute child pornography.

Otherwise voting rights are restored only by a full pardon either for actual
innocence or fully restoring civil and political rights.

e Restrictions on Employment:

(0]

(0]

Felons may not work as one of the following: law enforcement officer
(8 36-21-46), bank director (§ 5-6A-1), dentist or dental hygienist
(8 34-9-10, § 34-8-18), land surveyor (§ 34-11-12), optometrist (§ 34-22-
33), chiropractor (8 34-24-166), physical therapist (8 34-24-217),
polygraph examiner (8 34-25-21), school principal (§ 16-24B-3), or
veterinarian (§ 34-29-76).

A felony conviction is grounds for revocation of the professional license
of an accountant (8 34-1-12), architect (8 34-2-34), assisted living
administrator (8§ 34-2A-13), attorney (8§ 34-3-86), auctioneer (§ 34-4-29),
cosmetologist (§ 34-7A-15), professional counselor (§ 34-8A-16), hearing
instrument dealer or fitter (8§ 34-14-9), interior designer (§ 34-15C-11),
nurse (8 34-21-25), physician’s assistant (8 34-24-302), physician (§ 34-
24-360), psychologist (§ 34-26-46), real estate broker (§ 34-27-66), speech
pathologist (8§ 34-28A-26), social worker (8 34-30-4), geologist (§ 34-41-
19), massage therapist (§ 34-43-15), and insurance dealer (§ 27-7-19).



0 A person convicted of a Class A felony or sex crime may not hold a
teaching certificate. § 16-23-5.

o A felon may not be appointed to a job in a Class 4 municipality. § 11-44B-
43.

e Other Various State Prohibitions for Felonies:

o A felony conviction gives automotive insurers cause for cancelling a
liability insurance policy. § 27-23-21.

o If convicted of more than two felonies, the offender must register as a
felon. § 13A-11-182.

0 A felon may not have direct or indirect interest in a professional bail
company. § 15-13-160.

0 A felon cannot drive a commercial vehicle for one year if a motor vehicle
was used to commit a felony. A felon cannot drive a commercial vehicle
for life if a motor vehicle was used to commit a drug crime involving
manufacturing or distribution. § 32-6-49.11.

o A felon may have boating license revoked if a boat was used in the
commission of a felony. § 33-5-75.

A felon may be denied foster parent status. § 26-1-24.

A felon may lose drivers license for conviction of any felony in which a
motor vehicle is used. § 32-5A-195.

Federal Prohibitions for Felons:

e If convicted of a drug offense, may not receive federal grants, licenses, contracts,
or other federal benefits (21 U.S.C. § 862):

0 INCLUDING, but not limited to, all federal assistance for higher
education, food stamps, or temporary assistance to needy families.

0 EXCLUDING retirement, welfare, Social Security, health, disability,
public housing, military benefits, and benefits for which a payment is
required.

e May not serve on a federal jury until restoration of civil rights. 28 U.S.C § 1865.
e May not enlist in the armed services. 10 U.S.C. § 504.

e May not receive military pensions while in prison (though the pension may be
sent to spouse or children). 38 U.S.C. § 1505.

e May not receive federal workers compensation while in prison (though payments
may be made to spouse or children). 5 U.S.C. § 8148.

e May lose any federal license upon conviction of a drug offense. 21 U.S.C. § 862.



e May not be a person controlling the affairs of a federally insured depository
institution. 12 U.S.C. § 1818.

e May not serve in a leadership capacity for a labor organization or employee
benefit plan, if convicted of certain offenses. 29 U.S.C. §8 504, 1111.

e Registered sex offenders may not live in federally assisted housing or receive
federal low-income housing assistance. 42 U.S.C. § 1437.

e For certain offenses, the government may revoke a passport. 22 U.S.C. § 2714.

e An illegal alien who was illegal at the time of entry may be deported for the
following offenses (8 U.S.C. § 1227):

o0 A crime involving moral turpitude committed within 5 years of entry to
the U.S. AND for which carries a possible penalty of one year or longer.

o Two or more crimes involving moral turpitude not arising out of a single
scheme.

An aggravated felony. See 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(43).

A drug offense, other than a single offense involving possession of
30 grams or less of marihuana for personal use.

o Certain firearms or immigration offenses.
o Certain national security offenses.
0 A domestic violence offense.

e An alien is disqualified from naturalization if confined for 180 days or more as a
result of a conviction. 8 U.S.C. 88 1101(f)(7); 1427(a).






1. Determining a Sentence

A. Introduction

In Alabama, a defendant is sentenced at the discretion of the judge. Sentences must fall
within the minimum and maximum ranges for the particular class of offense as prescribed
in Ala. Code Title 13A, Chapter 3. In addition, the Code provides mandatory sentence
enhancements for numerous situations. Among these enhancements are increased
sentences for prior felony convictions, use of a firearm/deadly weapon, and child sex
offenses. Part B of this section details these statutory provisions.

In 2006, the Alabama Legislature approved the Initial Voluntary Sentencing Standards
proposed by the Alabama Sentencing Commission. The Standards provide sentence
recommendations for 26 felonies, which represent the vast majority of state convictions.
The Standards currently exist in the form of sentencing worksheets. A sentencing judge
must consider the Standards’ recommendation when sentencing for a covered felony,
though the judge is not required to follow the recommendation. Part D of this section
gives more information about the Sentencing Standards.

The Sentencing Standards incorporate all the sentencing increases of the Habitual Felony
Offender Act and other penalty enhancement statutes. Thus, if a judge follows the
Sentencing Standards’ recommendation, the judge should not add any statutory
enhancements.
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B. Alabama Statutory Penalty Provisions and Enhancements

1. Penalties by Class of Felony, with Firearm and Sex Offender Enhancements
Ala. Code § 13A-5-6 and § 13A-5-11

Current
Offense

Penalty

Minimum Penalty if
Firearm/Deadly
Weapon
Used/Attempted*

Minimum Mandatory
Child Sex Offenders**

Class A Felony

10-99 years or life in
State penitentiary

Fine up to $60,000

20 years

20 years plus 10 years
post-incarceration
supervision (part of
sentence)

Not eligible for
probation, good time,
parole, or split sentence

Class B Felony

2-20 years***

Fine up to $30,000

10 years

10 years

Not eligible for
probation, good time,
parole, or split sentence

Class C Felony

1 (+1 day) - 10 years***

Fine up to $15,000

10 years

No sentence
enhancement

Not eligible for good
time or probation****

* Applies where any coconspirator possesses a firearm. Browder v. State, 728 So. 2d 1108 (Ala.

1997).

** Applicable offenses are sex offenses involving a child victim under 12 years of age, child
pornography offenses involving children under the age of 17, and traveling to meet a child for
an unlawful sex act. (8 13A-6-124).

*** Imprisonment of 3 years or less can be ordered to be served in the county jail or penitentiary.
Ala. Code § 15-18-1(b) (1975).

*x** § 13-5-2(d) prohibits probation for all criminal sex offenses, but § 15-8-8 prohibits split
sentencing for only Class A and B sex offenses.
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2. Penalties for Misdemeanors & Violations
Ala. Code § 13A-5-7, § 13A-5-12, and § 11-45-9

Violation
§11-45-9

(Except for DUI offenses where
maximum is one year
imprisonment or hard labor)

Offense Imprisonment Fine
Class A Misdemeanor Not to exceed 1 year Not more than $6,000*
Class B Misdemeanor Not to exceed 6 months Not more than $3,000*
Class C Misdemeanor Not to exceed 3 months Not more than $500*
State Violation Not to exceed 30 days Not more than $200*
Municipal Ordinance Not to exceed 6 months Not to exceed $500

(Except for DUI where
maximum fine is $5,000)

*or any amount not exceeding double the pecuniary gain to the offender or loss to the victim

caused by the commission of the offense.
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3. Enhancements Pursuant to 8 13A-5-9, the Habitual Felony Offender Act.

Current
Offense

No Prior Felony
Convictions

One Prior Felony
Conviction

Two Prior Felony
Convictions

Three+ Prior Felony
Convictions

Class A Felony

10-99 years or life
in state penitentiary

Fine up to $60,000

15-99 years or life
in state
penitentiary

Fine up to $60,000

Life imprisonment
or any term of
years not less than
99 years

Fine up to $60,000

No prior Class A Felony
convictions: Mandatory
imprisonment for life or
life imprisonment without
possibility of parole

Fine up to $60,000

One or more prior

Class A Felony
convictions:

Mandatory imprisonment
for life without possibility
of parole**

Fine up to $60,000

Class B Felony

2-20 years*

Fine up to $30,000

10-99 years or life
in state
penitentiary

Fine up to $60,000

15-99 years or life
in state
penitentiary

Fine up to $60,000

Minimum of not less than
20 years or life
imprisonment

Fine up to $60,000

Class C Felony

1 (+1day)- 10
years*

Fine up to $15,000

2-20 years

Fine up to $30,000

10-99 years or life
in state
penitentiary

Fine up to $60,000

15-99 years or life in state
penitentiary

Fine up to $60,000

* Imprisonment of 3 years or less can be ordered to be served in the county jail or penitentiary.
Ala Code § 15-18-1(b).

** Due to the effect of § 15.22.27.2; see also State v. Thomas, 611 So. 2d 472, 474 (Ala. Crim.

App. 1992).
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Notes on the Habitual Felony Offender Act:

HFOA allows sentences that exceed the maximum sentences prescribed by
8 13A-5-6. Ex parte State (In re Lane v. State), 66 So. 3d 824, (Ala. 2010)
(holding valid a 120-year sentence for a defendant who was convicted of a
Class A felony after two prior felony convictions).

Convictions for offenses outside the criminal code (Title 13A) CANNOT be used
to enhance a sentence with the HFOA. Kennedy v. State, 929 So. 2d 515 (Ala.
Crim. App. 2005); see also Mosley v. State, 986 So. 2d 476 (Ala. Crim. App.
2007). This includes adjudications under the Youthful Offender Act. Ex Parte
Thomas, 435 So. 2d 1324 (Ala. 1982).

8 13A-5-9.1 allows modification of sentences of certain inmates sentenced under
the HFOA prior to May 25, 2000 (Kirby motions). For more on Kirby motions,
see the 2010 Reference Manual.

Pardoned convictions cannot be used for enhancement of sentence. Ex Parte
Casey, 852 So. 2d 175 (Ala. 2002).

HFOA enhancements are not added to the recommended sentence if the Initial
Voluntary Sentencing Standards are followed in a covered case. § 12-35-34(c);
State v. Crittenden, 17 So. 3d 253 (Ala. Crim. App. 2009).
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4. Drug Trafficking Enhancements (§ 13A-12-231)

Note: Defendants sentenced under the Drug Trafficking Act (8 13A-12-231) must serve
the minimum sentence or 15 years, whichever is greater, before becoming eligible for
parole and cannot receive good time credit. § 13A-12-232.

Offense Enhancement/Minimums Statute
Running a Drug Enterprise 1st conviction: 25 years minimum up to 813A-12-233
and includes life without parole and fine of
(organizing and receiving no less than $50,000 nor more than
monetary benefit from the $500,000.
work of five or more people)
2nd conviction: mandatory term of life
without parole and fine not less than
$150,000 nor more than $1 million.
Exception to mandatory Reduction is authorized for a defendant 813A-12-232

minimum sentences for drug
trafficking

sentenced to any term except life
imprisonment without parole if (s)he
provides substantial assistance in the arrest
or conviction of any accomplices,
accessories, co-conspirators, or principals.
Motion must be made by district attorney; a
judge may not reduce or suspend a
sentence ex mero moto.

Habitual offenders convicted
of drug trafficking

Sentence provided in drug statute or
HFOA, whichever is greater

§13A-12-231(12)

Drug trafficking while in
possession of firearm
Act 90-389, effective 4/17/90

Additional 5 years not subject to
suspension or probation & mandatory
$25,000 fine.

Imposition of $25,000 fine in connection
with firearm enhancement is mandatory
and the defendant must be informed thereof
prior to accepting guilty plea. Carter v.
State, 812 So. 2d 391 (Ala.Cr.App. 2001).

§13A-12-231(13)

Trafficking Cannabis: 500
pounds or more but less than
1,000 pounds

Minimum 15 years and $200,000 fine.

§13A-12-231(1)(c)

Trafficking Cannabis: 1,000
pounds or more

Life imprisonment without parole.

§13A-12-231(1)(d)

15




Offense

Enhancement/Minimums

Statute

Trafficking Morphine, Opium,
Heroin & Lysergic Acid
Diethylamide: 4 grams or
more but less than 14 grams

Minimum 3 years and $50,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (3) &
©))

Trafficking Morphine,

Opium, Heroin & Lysergic
Acid Diethylamide: 14 grams
or more but less than 28 grams

Minimum 10 years and $100,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 3) &
)

Trafficking Morphine, Opium,
Heroin & Lysergic Acid
Diethylamide: 28 grams or
more but less than 56 grams

Minimum 25 years and $500,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (3) &
©))

Trafficking Morphine, Opium,
Heroin & Lysergic Acid
Diethylamide: 56 grams or
more

Life imprisonment without parole.

§13A-12-231 (3) &
©))

Trafficking Phencyclidine or
mixture: 4 grams or more, but
less than 14 grams

Minimum 3 years and $50,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (8)

Trafficking Phencyclidine or
mixture: 14 grams or more,
but less than 28 grams

Minimum 5 years and $100,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (8)

Trafficking Phencyclidine or
mixture: 28 grams or more,
but less than 56 grams

Minimum 15 years and $250,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (8)

Trafficking Phencyclidine or
mixture: 56 grams or more

Life imprisonment without parole.

§13A-12-231 (8)

Trafficking Methaqualone:
1,000 but less than 5,000 pills

Minimum 3 years and $50,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (4)

Trafficking Methaqualone:
5,000 but less than 25,000
pills

Minimum 10 years and $100,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (4)

Trafficking Methaqualone:
25,000 but less than 100,000
pills

Minimum 25 years and $500,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (4)
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Offense

Enhancement/Minimums

Statute

Trafficking Methaqualone:
100,000 or more pills

Life imprisonment without parole.

§13A-12-231 (4)

Trafficking Hydromorphone:
500 but less than 1,000 pills

Minimum 3 years and $50,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (5)

Trafficking Hydromorphone:
1,000 but less than 4,000 pills

Minimum 10 years and $100,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (5)

Trafficking Hydromorphone:
4,000 but less than 10,000
pills

Minimum 25 years and $100,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (5)

Trafficking Hydromorphone:
10,000 or more pills

Life imprisonment without parole.

§13A-12-231 (5)

Trafficking cocaine or
mixture, methylenedioxy
amphetamine or mixture,
methoxy ethylenedioxy
amphetamine or mixture,
amphetamine or mixture,
methamphetamine or
mixture: 28 grams but less
than 500 grams

Minimum 3 years and $50,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (2),
(6), (7), (10), (11)

Trafficking cocaine or
mixture, methylenedioxy
amphetamine or mixture,
methoxy ethylenedioxy
amphetamine or mixture,
amphetamine or mixture,
methamphetamine or
mixture: 500 grams or more
but less than one kilo

Minimum 5 years and $100,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (2),
(6), (7), (10), (11)
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Offense

Enhancement/Minimums

Statute

Trafficking cocaine or
mixture, methylenedioxy
amphetamine or mixture,
methoxy ethylenedioxy
amphetamine or mixture,
amphetamine or mixture,
methamphetamine or

mixture: one kilo but less than
10 kilos

Minimum 15 years and $500,000 fine.

§13A-12-231 (2),
(6), (7), (10), (11)

Trafficking cocaine or
mixture, methylenedioxy
amphetamine or mixture,
methoxy ethylenedioxy
amphetamine or mixture,
amphetamine or mixture,
methamphetamine or
mixture: 10 kilos or more

Life imprisonment without parole.

§13A-12-231 (2),
(6), (7), (10), (11)
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5. Other Drug Enhancements

Offense Enhancement/Minimums Statute

Selling, furnishing controlled Class A Felony (10 - 99 years/life). 813A-12-215
substance to child (under 18)
Cannot be suspended or probated.

Drug sale within 3 mile radius of Additional 5 years imprisonment. 813A-12-250
school
If split, can suspend — see Soles v. State,
820 So. 2d 163 (Ala. Crim. App. 2001)

Drug sale within 3 mile radius of Additional 5 years imprisonment. 813A-12-270
housing project
If split, can suspend — see Soles v. State,
820 So. 2d 163 (Ala. Crim. pp. 2001)

Demand Reduction Assessment In addition other penalties for the crime: 813A-12-281
Applicable to convictions for: $1,000 mandatory fine for first offenders
e Drug Trafficking and $2,000 mandatory fine for second and
(813A-12-231); subsequent offenders.

e Sale, furnishing, etc.
controlled substance by
person over age 18 to
person under 18
(13A-12-215);

e Possession of Marihuana 1%
(8 13A-12-213);

e Distribution of controlled
substance (§ 13A-12-211);

o Poss./Receipt of controlled
substance (§ 13A-12-212);

e Attempts, conspiracies or
criminal solicitations to
commit a controlled
substance crime
(813A-12-202, 203, 204).
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6. DUI Enhancements

Offense

Enhancements/Minimums

Statute

Misdemeanor DUI

1% conviction: Not more than 1 year
imprisonment. Fine $600 but not more than
$2,100. 90 days driver’s license suspension.
May be required to have interlock device
installed for 1 year following reinstatement of
license. Interlock device required for 2 years if
blood alcohol 0.15 or more or someone under
14 in car.

2" conviction (within five years): Not more
than 1 year imprisonment. Mandatory
imprisonment for 5 days or not less than 30 days
community service. Fine $1,100 and not more
than $5,100. 1 year revocation of driver’s
license. Interlock device required for 2 years
following reinstatement of license.

3" conviction: Not less than 60 days but not
more than 1 year imprisonment. Fine $2,100 and
not more than $10,100. 3 year revocation of
driver’s license. Interlock device required for 3
years following reinstatement of license.

Must also refer to CRO program

§ 32-5A-191

As amended by
Act 2011-613,
Eff. 9/1/2011

Felony DUI - Class C Felony

4" or subsequent DUI conviction
within 5 years.

One year and one day nor more than 10 years, or
10 days mandatory imprisonment in county jail
if as a condition of probation the defendant is
enrolled and completes an approved chemical
dependency program.

Fine of $4,100 but not more than $10,100.
5 year revocation of driver’s license.

Interlock device required for 5 years following
reinstatement of license.

Felony DUI convictions do not count toward
HFOA.

8 32-5A-191

As amended by
Act 2011-613,
Eff. 9/1/2011

DUI in which the defendant is Double minimum punishment. 8 32A-5A-191
over the age of 21 with passenger

under 14 years of age.

DUI in which blood alcohol level | Double minimum punishment. § 32A-5A-191

is not less than 0.15.

As amended by
Act 2011-621,
Eff. 9/1/2011
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7. Miscellaneous Enhancements*

Offense

Enhancement/ Minimums

Statute

Rape 1%, Sodomy 1%, Sexual
Torture where defendant is

21 years or older and victim is
6 years or younger

Life imprisonment without parole

§ 13A-5-6

As amended by
Act 2011-555,
Eff. 9/1/2011

Hate Crimes Class A: 15 years 8 13A-5-13
Class B: 10 years
Class C: 2 years
Child Sex Offenders No possibility of parole 815-22-27.3
Committing Class A Felony
or Class B Felony
Transmitting Obscene Material | No Youthful Offender - Must be tried as adult 8 13A-6-111
to Child By Computer and records not sealed or expunged.
Repeat Felony Offense No possibility of parole for sentences of a term | §15-22-27.1

Resulting in Serious Physical
Injury

(subsequent conviction within
5 years of murder, rape,
robbery, or assault with a
deadly weapon (or attempts)
which results in serious
physical injury)

of years.

For life sentences, follow the parole guidelines
of the Habitual Felony Offender Act.

As interpreted by
Moore v. State, 739
So. 2d 536 (Ala.
Crim. App. 1998).

Domestic Violence 1% - 1 year without possibility of probation, parole, | § 13A-6-130
2" and subsequent offenses or good time.

If committed in violation of a protection order:

Minimum doubled without possibility of

probation, parole, or good time.
Domestic Violence 2™ - 6 months without possibility of probation, 8 13A-6-131

2" and subsequent offenses

parole, or good time.

If committed in violation of a protection order:
Minimum doubled without possibility of
probation, parole, or good time.

*Note: 8 13A-6-110, which provided penalty enhancements for solicitation of a child by
computer, was repealed by Act 2009-745. The bill redefined the crime (see § 13A-6-120, et
seq.), and the enhancements no longer apply. This is a correction from the 2010 Reference

Manual.
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Offense

Enhancement/ Minimums

Statute

Domestic Violence 3"

2" conviction: 10 days in city or county jail
without consideration of reduction in time.

3" and subsequent convictions: Becomes a
Class C felony

If committed in violation of a protection order: 30
days without consideration of reduction in time

§ 13A-6-132

As amended by
Act 2011-581,
Eff. 9/1/2011

Pharmacy Robbery Hard labor for not less than 10 years nor more than | § 13A-8-52
99 years and not eligible for parole, probation, or
suspension of sentence.
2" or subsequent convictions: defendant must be
imprisoned for life without parole.
Terrorism Murder: Death 8 13A-10-152
Class A (other than Murder): Life without parole
Class B: Becomes a Class A
Class C: Becomes a Class B
Falsely Reporting Incident No part of sentence can be suspended, deferred, or | § 13A-11-11

Re: Release or Impending
Release of Hazardous or
Dangerous Substance where
object is to interfere with
attendance, operation etc. of
school

withheld and offender not eligible for good time,
early release, or work release.

As amended by
Act 2009-718,
Eff. 8/1/2009

Possession & sale of brass or | Additional consecutive punishment of 3 years in 8§ 13A-11-60
steel Teflon-coated handgun | the penitentiary.

ammunition

Willful Violation of Class A misdemeanor 8 30-5A-3 (c)

Protection Order

2" conviction: minimum of 48 hours continuous
imprisonment which cannot be suspended

3" and subsequent convictions: 30 days
imprisonment which may not be suspended
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Apprendi and Due Process Limits on Sentencing Enhancements

The 2000 Supreme Court decision in Apprendi v. New Jersey held that “[o]ther than the
fact of a prior conviction, any fact that increases the penalty for a crime beyond the
statutory maximum must be submitted to a jury, and proved beyond a reasonable doubt.”
530 U.S. 466, 490 S.Ct. 2348 (2000) (emphasis added).

Summary:

1. Apprendi demands that to enhance a sentence for a crime beyond the maximum
prescribed by statute (e.g., 8 13A-5-6), the facts underlying the enhancement must
be submitted to the jury and proved beyond a reasonable doubt.

2. Apprendi does not impact enhancements under the Habitual Felony Offender Act,
but it does affect other enhancements (most notably drug enhancements).
Almendarez-Torres v. United States, 523 U.S. 224 (1998); United States v.
Moore, 241 Fed. App’x 599 (11th Cir. 2007).

3. The state must give notice that it wishes to seek an enhancement above the
maximum, but it does not have to allege the facts leading to the enhancement in
its indictment. Poole v. State, 846 So. 2d 370, 387 (Ala. Crim. App 2001).

The Apprendi Decision:

Charles Apprendi pled guilty to a charge of unlawful possession of a firearm after
shooting his gun into a neighbor’s house. Under New Jersey statute, the maximum
penalty for this crime was 10 years. During a sentencing hearing, the judge found by a
preponderance of the evidence that Apprendi’s crime was motivated by racial animus.
The judge enhanced Apprendi’s sentence to 12 years using a statute intended to increase
penalties for hate crimes.

The Supreme Court held Apprendi’s sentence unconstitutional under the Fourteenth
Amendment Due Process Clause. Id. at 474. New Jersey argued that the racial animus
was merely a sentencing factor for the underlying crime, not an element of the crime
itself. The Court disagreed and held that when a sentencing factor (or sentencing
enhancement), produces a sentence greater than that prescribed by statute for the
underlying offense, the enhancement in effect creates a separate offense. See id. at
495-96. Thus, any fact other than a prior conviction that increases a sentence above the
statutory maximum for the underlying offense is an element that must be submitted to a
jury and proved beyond a reasonable doubt (or admitted by the defendant). Id at 490. The
fact of a past conviction has already been subjected to the reasonable doubt test in a prior
proceeding and, therefore, may be used by a judge to enhance a sentence. See id. at 496.
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Poole - Apprendi in Alabama:

The Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals addressed the impact of Apprendi in Poole v.
State, 846 So. 2d 370 (Ala. Crim. App. 2001). Poole was convicted of distributing a
controlled substance, which carries a maximum 20 year sentence as a Class B felony. He
received a 30 year sentence for the crime after the court added two 5 year enhancements
for distributing near a school (Ala. Code. 8 13A-12-250) and near a housing project (Ala.
Code 8§ 13A-12-270). The Court of Criminal Appeals held the application of the
enhancements was unconstitutional under Apprendi because the facts underlying them
were found by a judge and were not submitted to a jury and proved beyond a reasonable
doubt. Id. at 379.

Poole held that Apprendi does not require the state to allege in its indictment facts that
would increase a defendant’s sentence beyond the statutory maximum. Id. at 387.
However, the state must give notice that it intends to seek the enhanced penalties. Id.
When the state wishes to enhance a penalty, the jury must return a separate verdict form
finding the facts underlying the enhancements proved beyond a reasonable doubt. Id. at
388.

Application of the Apprendi Principle to Death Penalty Sentences:

e In exercising its authority to override a jury’s recommendation of life without
parole instead of death, a circuit court must treat the jury’s recommendation as a
mitigating circumstance and state in its sentencing order specific reasons for the
weight it gave the jury’s recommendation.® Ferguson v. State, 13 So. 3d 418
(Ala. Crim. App. 2008).

e Applying Apprendi, a jury must find beyond a reasonable doubt aggravating
circumstances that enhance a murder conviction to a death sentence. Ring v.
Arizona, 536 U.S. 584 (2002). However, the jury is not required to weigh the
mitigating and aggravating circumstances that factor in a decision to impose the
death penalty. Ex Parte Waldrop, 859 So. 2d 1181, 1190 (Ala. 2002).

% «Carroll [852 So. 2d 833 (Ala. 2002)] and Tomlin [909 So. 2d 283 (Ala. 2003)] do not state that a court
must give ‘considerable’ or ‘great’ weight to the jury's recommendation of life imprisonment without
parole whenever the vote in favor of life without parole is 10 years or greater.” Ferguson v. State, 13 So.
3d 418 (Ala. Crim. App. 2008).
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C. Limitations on Sentencing
Credits for Time Served

e Regardless of whether time served is used as a factor in determining an
appropriate sentence, the sentencing court must credit the convicted person with
all actual time the person spent incarcerated pending trial. 8 15-18-5; ARCrP
26.9(b)(2); see Fuqua v. State, 910 So. 2d 141 (Ala. Crim. App. 2005).

e A convicted person is entitled to credit for time served out of state pending return
to Alabama to face trial. However, no credit is authorized if the convict escaped
from custody following conviction. See Culbreth v. State, 966 So. 2d 912 (Ala.
Crim. App. 2007).

Eighth Amendment and the Proportionality Requirement

e The Eighth Amendment does not require a sentencing court to consider mitigating
factors for noncapital offenses. Harmelin v. Michigan, 501 U.S. 957 (1991).

e The U.S. Supreme Court has held that the Eighth Amendment requires some level
of proportionality between the sentence and the crime committed. Harmelin, 501
U.S. 957; Solem v. Helm, 463 U.S. 277 (1983). To determine whether or not a
sentence is proportional, first determine if the sentence is grossly disproportionate
to the offense. If the sentence is grossly disproportionate, examine the sentences
imposed on other defendants both inside and outside the jurisdiction. Ewing v.
California, 538 U.S. 11 (2003); Harmelin, 501 U.S. 957; United States v.
Reynolds, 215 F.3d 1210, 1214 (11" Cir. 2000); Wilson v. State, 830 So. 2d 765
(Ala. Crim. App. 2001).

e In determining if a sentence is grossly disproportionate, the U.S. Supreme Court
has created a non-exhaustive list of factors: consideration of the circumstances of
the crime, the harm caused to the victim or to society, the culpability of the
offender, and the offender's motive in committing the crime. Solem, 463 U.S. 277,
Wilson, 830 So. 2d 765.

e Generally, sentences imposed within statutorily prescribed limits will not run
afoul of the Eighth Amendment.

Juveniles Sentenced as Adults (Roper, Graham, Miller)
e A juvenile, who under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, may not be
sentenced to death. Roper v. Simmons, 543 U.S. 551, 560, 125 S.Ct. 1183, 161
L.Ed.2d 1 (2005)

e A juvenile, who was under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, may not be
sentenced to life without the possibility of parole upon conviction of a
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non-homicide offense. Graham v. Florida, 560 U.S. |, 130 S.Ct. 2011, 176
L.Ed. 825 (2010)

A juvenile, who was under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, may not
receive a mandatory sentence of life without parole for capital murder. Miller v.
Alabama, _ S.Ct.__, 2012 WL 2368659 (June 25, 2012)

Double Jeopardy

The Fifth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution prohibits prosecuting a defendant more
than once for the same crime. Consequently, a defendant may not be prosecuted for more
than one offense resulting from the exact same acts. However, it is possible for a
defendant to be charged with multiple crimes for a single criminal transaction if the facts
proving each offense differ:

The applicable rule is that, where the same act or transaction constitutes a
violation of two distinct statutory provisions, the test to be applied to determine
whether there are two offenses or only one, is whether each provision requires
proof of a fact which the other does not.

Blockburger v. United States, 284 U.S. 299, 304, 52 S.Ct. 180 (1932).

The following applications of double jeopardy principles come from Alabama case law:

A defendant may not be convicted of both felony murder and the underlying
felony, since the latter is a necessary element of the former. Jones v. State, 992
So. 2d 76 (Ala. Crim. App. 2007); Witherspoon v. State, 33 So. 3d 625 (Ala.
Crim. App. 2009).

If a statute prescribes more than one way to prove an offense, a defendant may
not be punished for multiple counts of the same offense because the prosecution
proved the crime more than one way. Billups v. State, 2010 WL 3377690 (Ala.
Crim. App. Aug. 27, 2010) (discussing capital murder); Egbonou v. State, 993 So.
2d 35 (Ala. Crim. App. 2007) (discussing identity theft).

A defendant convicted of burglary (breaking an entering with the intent to commit
a felony) may also be convicted of the subsequent felony and may be sentenced to
consecutive sentences for both crimes. Dawson v. State, 675 So. 2d 897 (Ala.
Crim. App. 1995). HOWEVER, a defendant convicted of burglary and a resulting
theft may only be punished with concurrent sentences for both crimes. Ex Parte
McKelvey, 630 So. 2d 56 (Ala. 1992).

Possession of two separate controlled substances at the same time constitutes only
one act of possession. Hollaway v. State, 979 So. 2d 839 (Ala. Crim. App. 2007).
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D. The Sentencing Standards

When determining a sentence for one of the 26 felony offenses listed below, the court
must complete and submit a worksheet under the Initial VVoluntary Sentencing Standards,
pursuant to the Alabama Sentencing Reform Act of 2006 (8 12-25-30, et seq.).

See the Initial Voluntary Sentencing Standards & Worksheets manual for complete
information on completing the sentencing worksheets.

Personal Crimes

Assault |
§ 13A-6-20

Assault 11
813A-6-21

Manslaughter
813A-6-3

Murder
8§13A-6-2

Rape |
813A-6-61

Rape 11
813A-62

Robbery |
813A-8-41

Robbery 11
§13A-8-42

Robbery 111
813A-8-43

Sodomy |
813A-6-13

Sodomy 11
813A-6-64

Property Crimes

Burglary |
§ 13A-7-5

Burglary 11
813A-7-6

Burglary 11l
813A-9-3

Forgery Il
813A-9-3

Possession Forged
Instrument 11
813A-9-6

Theft of Property |
§13A-8-3

Theft of Property 11
813A-8-4

Receiving Stolen Property |
813A-8-17

Receiving Stolen Property 11
813A-8-18

Unauthorized Use/B&E
Vehicle
813A-8-11

Unlawful Possession/Use of
Credit/Debit Card
813A-9-14

Drug Crimes

Felony DUI
8 32-5A-191

Possession of Marihuana |
813A-12-213

Unlawful Possession of a
Controlled Substance
§ 13A-12-212

Sale/Distribution of
Marihuana (other than to a
minor)
813A-12-211

Sale/Distribution of Schedule

I-V (other than to a minor)
813A-12-211
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Questions about the Voluntary Sentencing Standards
1. What are the Sentencing Standards?

In compliance with the directives included in the Sentencing Reform Act of 2003, the
Alabama Sentencing Commission developed Voluntary Sentencing Standards, or
recommended sentences, for the most frequent felony convictions. These recommended
sentences provide judges with additional information and direction in light of the wide
sentencing ranges available under other criminal sentencing statutes.

The Standards are voluntary, non-appealable, historically based, time imposed,
sentencing recommendations developed for 26 felony offenses, representing 87% of all
felony convictions in Alabama over a five-year period from October 1, 1998 through
May 31, 2003. The Standards take into account the key factors considered by judges
when determining a sentence.

The Voluntary Standards are not meant to trump, but rather to aid, judicial discretion.
There will be cases in which the judge will find it appropriate to impose a lesser of
greater sentence than the Standards recommend. However, it is expected that use of the
Standards will result in more informed sentencing, greater uniformity in sentencing, and a
dramatic reduction in sentencing disparity among like-situated defendants.

The Sentencing Standards are voluntary and non-appealable, and do not work like the
mandatory guidelines of some states and the federal courts.

The Sentencing Standards were approved by the Legislature during the 2006 Legislative
Session and became effective October 1, 2006.

2. Why does Alabama have Sentencing Standards?
The Alabama Legislature recognized a need for sentencing reform in this State.

A study conducted by the Vera Institute of Justice, found that there was a 326% increase
in the rate of incarceration in Alabama between 1979 and 2000.

As of 2008, Alabama prisons had the fifth highest rate of incarceration in the nation, (634
per 100,000), 125% of the national average.* Currently, Alabama’s prisons sit at 190%
of capacity, at approximately the same level of overcrowding that recently prompted the
Uniteéj States Supreme Court to order California to reduce its prison population by a
third.

Recognizing the overcrowding of our prisons in Alabama, and the demands on our public
resources, the Alabama Legislature created the Alabama Sentencing Commission to

* UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, PRISONERS IN 2008 (2009),
http://bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov/content/pub/pdf/p08.pdf.
>Brownv. Plata, U.S. 131 S.Ct. 1910, 1924 (2011).
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recommend changes in Alabama’s criminal justice system. Such recommendations must,
among other things, secure public safety, provide certainty and fairness in sentencing,
avoid unwarranted sentencing disparities, and prevent prison overcrowding and
premature release of prisoners.

To read more about the purposes of the Alabama Sentencing Commission and the
Sentencing Standards, see The Alabama Sentencing Reform Act of 2006 (Ala Code.
§ 12-25-30, et seq.), which is reprinted in the Initial Voluntary Sentencing Standards &
Worksheets manual.

3. Are sentencing judges required to use the Sentencing Standards?

The Sentencing Standards are voluntary and non-appealable. However, when sentencing
for an applicable felony, judges must consider the Sentencing Standards. If the judge
chooses not to follow the recommendation, he/she may indicate a reason for doing so.
§ 12-25-35.

4. How do the Sentencing Standards relate to the Habitual Felony Offender Act and
other statutory sentencing enhancements?

When following the Voluntary Sentencing Standards, additional enhancements should
not be imposed. The Standards take into account the statutory mandates of the Habitual
Felony Offender Act (HFOA) and other sentencing laws. “No additional penalties
pursuant to any sentence enhancement statute shall apply to sentences imposed based on
the Voluntary Sentencing Standards.” 8 12-25-34(c).

The Court of Criminal Appeals, relying upon the Supreme Court's decision in
State v. Jones, 13 So. 3d 915 (Ala. 2008), held that the Alabama Sentencing Reform Act
of 2003 gives the trial judge discretion to either sentence a defendant pursuant to the
Voluntary Sentencing Standards, in which case the HFOA would not apply, or to
sentence outside the Standards. If the judge does not follow the recommended sentence
of the Sentencing Standards, the HFOA enhancements apply. Ex parte State (In re State
v. Crittenden), 17 So0.3d 253 (Ala. Crim. App. 2009).

5. Do the current Sentencing Standards represent “truth-in-sentencing”?

No. The Legislature has extended the time for implementing truth-in-sentencing in
Alabama until 2020. Act 2012-473.

The Alabama Sentencing Commission is currently developing standards that comply with
truth-in-sentencing mandates.
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6. Do the sentencing worksheets cover inchoate offenses (attempt, conspiracy,
solicitation)?

No. The worksheets do not cover any inchoate offenses, including inchoate offenses for
which the penalty is the same as the actual offense. They do cover aiding and abetting,
since accessory liability is equivalent to liability for the underlying crime.

7. Is there an electronic version of the sentencing worksheets?

Yes. The E-Worksheets application, supported by the Administrative Office of Courts,
provide users access to electronically complete sentencing worksheets or to print PDF
copies of the worksheets that users can complete manually.

In compliance with § 12-25-35(e), the Commission requires that the actual sentencing
order (not a copy of the SJIS sentencing screen and the sentence imposed after probation
is granted or denied) and the final worksheet considered by the Court (reflecting the
accurate offense of conviction and any other corrections) be provided to the Alabama
Sentencing Commission office.

The E-Worksheets system found at http://worksheets.alacourt.gov may be used to
complete the worksheets, but does not produce the official form to be provided to the
Alabama Sentencing Commission.

Statewide Youthful Offender and Juvenile delinquency adjudication information is
available for designated worksheet preparers from this website for purposes of
completing the worksheets only. This information is confidential and may not be
disclosed to the general public. Unauthorized disclosure is a criminal offense.

The Instructional Manual and PDF worksheet forms are available on the Alabama
Sentencing Commission’s website at http://sentencingcommission.alacourt.gov.
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I11. Types of Punishment

“[T]he only legal punishments, besides removal from office and disqualification to hold
office, are fines, hard labor for the county, imprisonment in the county jail, imprisonment
in the penitentiary, which includes hard labor for the state, and death.” Ala. Code 8§ 15-
18-1(a).

A. Imprisonment

1. Places of Imprisonment

Proper Place of Imprisonment by Time of Sentence, 8 15-18-1.

Type and Length of Sentence Permissible Place of Incarceration

Felony, sentence greater than 3 years State penitentiary

Felony, sentence greater than 1 year but State penitentiary OR county jail OR hard
less than or equal to 3 years labor for the county.

Misdemeanor NOT in the state penitentiary

2. Multiple Sentences

Alabama utilizes three types of multiple sentencing: consecutive, concurrent, and
coterminous.

Consecutive: Two or more sentences that are served at separate times, in sequence. One
begins when the other ends. For example, if a defendant receives consecutive sentences
of 10 years and 5 years, the total amount of incarceration is 15 years. If the sentencing
order does not state how multiple sentences should be served, they are served
consecutively. § 14-4-9, ARCrP 26.12.

Concurrent: Two or more sentences that are served simultaneously. For example, if a
defendant is sentenced to serve concurrent sentences of 20 years and 5 years, the total
imprisonment is 20 years.

Note: The court may modify a previously imposed consecutive sentence to run

concurrently. ARCrP 26.12(c). However, a court may not change a concurrent sentence
into a consecutive one. Smith v. State, 814 So. 2d 308, 310 (Ala. Crim. App. 2001).
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Coterminous®: A subsequent sentence, set to end at the same time as the original
sentence, given to an already incarcerated individual. Coterminous punishment gives
retroactive credit for the second sentence with time already served for the first sentence.
For example, if a defendant has served 6 years of a 10-year sentence and then is
sentenced to a second, coterminous 5-year sentence, the defendant would serve a total of
10 years. One year of retroactive credit would be applied to the second sentence.

3. Split Sentences

Section 15-18-8 of the Alabama Code, known as the Split Sentence Act’, gives judges
discretion to suspend a significant portion of a defendant’s sentence. Under the Act, a
judge may impose a limited period of incarceration followed by a period of probation.
The Act imposes the following conditions:

e For sentences of up to 15 years imprisonment, the judge may order no more
than 3 years actual confinement, with the remainder of the sentence suspended.

e For sentences greater than 15 years but not more than 20 vyears
imprisonment, the judge may order not less than 3 but no more than 5 years
confinement, with the remainder of the sentence suspended.

e The Alabama Supreme Court has held that even the incarceration portion of a
split sentence may be suspended. See Ex parte McCormick, 932 So.2d 124 (Ala.
2005)

e Using a split sentence is always discretionary, never required.

e Split sentences are unavailable for sentences of imprisonment exceeding
20 years.

e Split sentences are unavailable for Class A and Class B felony child sex offenses.
§ 15-8-8(a).

e During the suspended portion of the sentence, the defendant must be placed on
probation for a period of time up to the remainder of the suspended portion for the
sentence. See also Hemrick v. State, 922 So. 2d 967, 970 (Ala. Crim. App. 2005).

e The court retains jurisdiction over the defendant during his or her incarceration.

e Inmates serving the incarceration portion of a split sentence are not eligible for
Correctional Incentive Time credits (“good time”).

¢ Although “coterminous” sentences are not mentioned in the Code or Criminal Rules of Procedure, this
type of sentence has been negotiated in plea agreements and imposed by some trial courts.

"Paragraph (a)(2) of the Act allows for confinement in a “conservation camp program,” known as boot
camp. As of 2007, the Commissioner of the Department of Corrections, in consultation with trial judges,
discontinued this program.
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If a defendant’s sentence must be increased by a statutory enhancement (HFOA,
3-mile radius of a school enhancement, etc.), the judge may suspend the enhanced
portion of the sentence. Soles v. State, 820 So. 2d 163, 165 (Ala. Crim. App.
2003). However, the judge is not required to do so. Moore v. State, 871 So. 2d
106, 108 (Ala. Crim. App. 2003).

A judge may impose a reverse split sentence, allowing the defendant to serve the
suspended probation portion of the sentence before the incarceration portion. Ex
parte McCormick, 932 So. 2d 124, 139 n.18 (Ala. 2005). The judge retains
jurisdiction to suspend the incarceration at any time.

The trial court cannot aggregate separate misdemeanor sentences and treat them

as one sentence in the aggregate under the Split Sentence Act. Glass v. State, 14
So. 3d 188 (Ala. Crim. App. 2008).
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B. Correctional Incentive Time (“Good Time” Credits)

The Correctional Incentive Time Act (§ 14-9-41), often referred to as the Good Time
Law, automatically reduces the proportion of a sentence a defendant will serve in prison.
All defendants who are not excluded (see below) will receive good time credit. The judge
has no discretion over the application of good time credit to a particular defendant.

Good time credit is not earned, but is provided by statute to every defendant who
qualifies. Full good time credit is denied or forfeited only by bad conduct or rule
violations. A defendant released due to good time credit has completed his or her
sentence and is, therefore, not on parole.

The charts on the following pages show how long a defendant serving a particular
sentence and receiving good time credit will actually remain incarcerated. Chart 1 shows
expected time to serve after good time has been calculated generally. Chart 2 shows the
expected time to serve if the offender is convicted of a crime involving the sexual abuse
against a child 12 to 17 years of age or an assault where the victim suffered the loss or
permanent use or partial permanent use of any body organ or appendage.

The following inmates are NOT ELIGIBLE for Correctional Incentive Time:

e Inmates serving a sentence of more than 15 years.

e Inmates convicted of a Class A felony.

e Inmates convicted of a criminal sex offense involving a child (all offenses
involving a child under 12, child pornography involving children under 17, and
traveling to meet a child for an unlawful sex act).

e Inmates serving the confinement portion of a split sentence. § 15-8-8

e Inmates serving a mandatory enhancement that prohibits good time (see Section
11(B), Table 4, supra).

e County jail inmates NOT sentenced to hard labor.
e Defendants on probation.
Other notes:
e Defendants on parole DO continue to accrue good time credit. However,
deductions due to good time credit do not count toward parole eligibility.

8§ 14-9-42.

e Community corrections accrues good time, except as a condition of probation.
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Full good time credit is not available to defendants who committed an offense
involving sexual abuse of a child age 12 to 17 years or caused the permanent loss
of a body part during an assault. § 14-9-41(e). See Chart 2.

If mandatory enhancements increase a defendant’s sentence beyond 15 years, that
defendant is not eligible for good time credit. Alabama Department of
Corrections v. Hamilton, 828 So. 2d 374, 375 (Ala. Crim. App 2002).

Consecutive sentences are treated separately when determining good time
eligibility. Therefore, an inmate who is serving consecutive sentences that
together exceed 15 years may still be eligible for good time. 8 14-9-41(g)(1)
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Chart 1

Actual Time Served After Applying Correctional Incentive Time (Generally)

Sentence Time Served:
Year Month Day

1 Year — 6 18
2 Years — 11 5
3 Years 1 2 18
4 Years 1 6 —
5 Years 1 9 13
6 Years 2 — 26
7 Years 2 9
8 Years 2 7 22
9 Years 2 11 5
10 Years § 14-9-41(e) 3 18
11 Years 3 —
12 Years 3 9 13
13 Years 3 11 28
14 Years 4 9
15 Years 4 7 22
16 Years (Consecutive) 4 11 5
17 Years (Consecutive) 5 2 18
18 Years (Consecutive) 5 6 —
19 Years (Consecutive) 5 9 13
20 Years (Consecutive) 6 — 26
25 Years (Consecutive) 7 6 —
30 Years (Consecutive) 8 11 5
40 Years (Consecutive) 11 9 13
50 Years (Consecutive) 14 7 22

This chart assumes full good time eligibility and no deductions for bad behavior or other
violations (Class I prisoner throughout). Calculations for terms greater than 15 years
assume that all individual consecutive sentences are eligible for good time.
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Chart 2

Time to Serve — Correctional Incentive Time — Automatic Elevation — No Jail Credit

CLASS I

Sentence Year Month Day
1 Year 6 18
2 Years 11 23
3 Years 1 4 25
4 Years 1 10 1
5 Years 2 3 8
6 Years 2 9
7 Years 3 15
8 Years 3 17
9 Years 3 11 23
10 Years 8§ 14-9-41(e) 4 4 25
11 Years 4 10 1
12 Years 5 3 8
13 Years 5 9
14 Years 6 16
15 Years 6 17
16 Years (Consecutive Sentence) 6 11 23
17 Years (Consecutive Sentence) 7 4 25
18 Years (Consecutive Sentence) 7 10 1
19 Years (Consecutive Sentence) 8 3

20 Years (Consecutive Sentence) 8 9 8
25 Years (Consecutive Sentence) 10 10 2
30 Years (Consecutive Sentence) 12 11 24
40 Years (Consecutive Sentence) 17 3 8
50 Years (Consecutive Sentence) 21 5 18
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The Correctional Incentive Time Act is reprinted here for your reference.
Ala. Code § 14-9-41: Computation of Incentive Time Deductions

(a) Each prisoner who shall hereafter be convicted of any offense against the laws of the
State of Alabama and is confined, in execution of the judgment or sentence upon any
conviction, in the penitentiary or at hard labor for the county or in any municipal jail for a
definite or indeterminate term, other than for life, whose record of conduct shows that he
has faithfully observed the rules for a period of time to be specified by this article may be
entitled to earn a deduction from the term of his sentence as follows:

(1) Seventy-five days for each 30 days actually served while the prisoner is
classified as a Class | prisoner.

(2) Forty days for each 30 days actually served while the prisoner is a Class Il
prisoner.

(3) Twenty days for each 30 days actually served while the prisoner is a
Class Il prisoner.

(4) No good time shall accrue during the period the prisoner is classified as a
Class IV prisoner.

(b) Within 90 days after May 19, 1980, the Commissioner of the Department of
Corrections shall establish and publish in appropriate directives certain criteria not in
conflict with this article for Class I, Il, IlIl, and IV prisoner classifications. Such
classifications shall encompass consideration of the prisoner's behavior, discipline, and
work practices and job responsibilities.

(c)(2) Class I is set aside for those prisoners who are considered to be trustworthy in
every respect and who, by virtue of their work habits, conduct, and attitude of
cooperation have proven their trustworthiness. An example of a Class | inmate would be
one who could work without constant supervision by a security officer.

(2) Class Il is that category of prisoners whose jobs will be under the supervision of a
correctional employee at all times. Any inmate shall remain in this classification for a
minimum period of six months before being eligible for Class I.

(3) Class Il is for prisoners with special assignments. They may not receive any of the
privileges of Class | and Class Il inmates. Any inmate shall remain in this classification
for a minimum period of three months before being eligible for Class II.

(4) Class IV is for prisoners not yet classified and for those who are able to work and
refuse, or who commit disciplinary infractions of such a nature which do not warrant a
higher classification, or inmates who do not abide by the rules of the institution. Inmates
who are classified in this earning class receive no correctional incentive time. This class
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is generally referred to as “flat time” or “day-for-day.” Any inmate shall remain in this
classification for a minimum period of 30 days before being eligible for Class IlI.

(5) No inmate may reach any class without first having gone through and meeting the
requirements of all lower classifications.

(d) As a prisoner gains a higher classification status he shall not be granted retroactive
incentive credit based on the higher classification he has reached, but shall be granted
incentive credit based solely on the classification in which he was serving at the time the
incentive credit was earned. Nothing in this article shall be interpreted as authorizing an
inmate incentive credits based on the highest classification he attains for any period of
time in which he was serving in a lower classification or from the date of his sentence.

(e) Provided, however, no person may receive the benefits of correctional incentive time
if he or she has been convicted of a Class A felony or has been sentenced to life, or death,
or who has received a sentence for more than 15 years in the state penitentiary or in the
county jail at hard labor or in any municipal jail. No person may receive the benefits of
correctional incentive time if he or she has been convicted of a criminal sex offense
involving a child as defined in Section 15-20-21(5). No person may be placed in Class |
if he or she has been convicted of an assault where the victims of such assault suffered
the permanent loss or use or permanent partial loss or use of any bodily organ or
appendage. No person may be placed in Class I if he or she has been convicted of a crime
involving the perpetration of sexual abuse upon the person of a child under the age of 17
years.

The court sentencing a person shall note upon the transcript to accompany such prisoner
the fact that he or she has been sentenced as a result of a crime that forbids his or her
being classified as a Class | prisoner.

(F)(1) If during the term of imprisonment a prisoner commits an offense or violates a rule
of the Department of Corrections, all or any part of his correctional incentive time
accrued pursuant to this section shall be forfeited.

(2) The Commissioner of the Department of Corrections shall have the power to restore
to any prisoner who has heretofore, or who may hereafter, forfeit the deductions allowed
him or her for good behavior, work habits and cooperation, or good conduct, by violating
any existing law or prison rule or regulation such portion of his deduction for good
conduct or good behavior as may be proper in his judgment, upon recommendation and
evidence submitted to him by the warden in charge.

(9)(1) When a prisoner is serving two or more terms of imprisonment and the sentences
run consecutively, then all such sentences shall be combined for the purpose of
computing deductions for correctional incentive time and release date; however, the
actual deduction from sentence for correctional incentive time provided by this section
shall apply only to sentences to be served.
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(2) When a prisoner is serving two or more sentences which run concurrently, the
sentence which results in the longer period of incarceration yet remaining shall be
considered the term to which such prisoner is sentenced for the purpose of computing his
release date and correctional incentive time under the provisions of this article. When
computing the deductions allowed in this section on indeterminate sentences the
maximum sentence shall be the basis for the computation. The provisions of this section
shall be administered by the chief administrative officer of the penal institution as it
applies to prisoners in any state penal institution, by the sheriff of the county as it applies
to prisoners in any county jail and by the chief of police as it applies to prisoners in any
municipal jail.

(h) Deductions for good behavior, work habits and cooperation, or good conduct shall be
interpreted to give authorized good time retroactively, to those offenders convicted of
crimes committed after May 19, 1980, except those convicted of crimes of the unlawful
sale or distribution of controlled substances as enumerated in Title 13A and in former
Chapter 2 of Title 20, and-for-any-sexual-offenses-as-enumerated-in-Chapter 6 Fitle 13A°,
provided however that the Commissioner of the Department of Corrections shall have the
prison records of all inmates, who become eligible under this article, reviewed and shall
disqualify any such inmate from being awarded good time under this article at his
discretion.

(Acts 1980, No. 80-446, p. 690, § 2; Acts 1991, No. 91-637, p. 1201, § 1; Act 2005-301,
1st Sp. Sess., p. 571, 8 1)

® Held unconstitutional by Bell v. State, 622 So. 2d 447 (Ala. Crim. App. 1993).
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C. Parole

In addition to Correctional Incentive Time (good time) credit, parole can shorten the
amount of time an inmate stays incarcerated.

Parole differs from good time in two important ways. First, an inmate on parole is
deemed to remain in the custody of the Department of Corrections and may be sent back
to prison for a violation. Second, granting parole is not a statutory right, but falls to the
ultimate discretion of the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

The statutes and regulations governing parole can be found in:

e Ala. Code, Title 15, Chapter 22, Article 2

e Regulations of the Board of Pardons and Paroles, available at
http://www.pardons.state.al.us

Highlights of Parole Regulations®:
e If receiving good time credit:

o For atotal term of imprisonment of 5 years or less, the inmate is placed on
the current docket for parole consideration.

o For a total term of imprisonment greater than 5 and up to 10 years, the
inmate will receive parole consideration approximately 12 months prior to
the minimum release date.

o For a total term of imprisonment greater than 10 and up to 15 years, the
inmate will receive parole consideration approximately 24 months prior to
the minimum release date.

o For a total term of imprisonment greater 15 years, the inmate will receive
parole consideration approximately 36 months prior to the minimum
release date.

e If not receiving good time credit, the inmate must serve the lesser of 1/3 of the
total term of imprisonment or 10 years before being eligible for parole release.

e Inmates convicted of murder, attempted murder, rape 1%, sodomy 1%, sexual
torture, kidnapping 1%, robbery 1% with serious physical injury, burglary 1* with
serious physical injury, or arson 1% with serious physical injury must serve the

® Unless otherwise noted, taken from ALABAMA BOARD OF PARDONS AND PAROLES RULES, REGULATIONS,
AND PROCEDURES, Article 1 (2004), http://www.pardons.state.al.us.
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lesser of 85% of the total sentence or 15 years before being eligible for parole
release.

With a unanimous vote, however, the Board of Pardons and Paroles may consider
an inmate for parole at an earlier time.

Inmates serving the confinement portion of a split sentence are not eligible for
parole.

Inmates serving a sentence for a Class A or B criminal sex offense involving a
child under the age of 12 are not eligible for parole. § 15-22-27.3.

D. Probation

Act 2011-696, approved June 14, 2011, and now in effect, modified Ala. Code 8§ 15-22-54
and § 15-22-54.1, which had been previously amended in 2010. The changes made by the
2011 law are reflected below.

Complete rules of probation can be found in Ala. Code § 15-22-50, et seq. and Rule
27 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure.

Probation in Alabama comes in two forms: (1) probation resulting from a split sentence
and (2) straight probation given in lieu of imprisonment. For information on split
sentences, see Section 111(A)(3).%°

Circuit and District Courts are empowered to suspend the execution of sentence and place
an offender on probation within certain limitations set out in §15-22-50, et seq.

The trial court may entertain an application for probation filed at any time after
conviction and before the court loses jurisdiction to modify the sentence (30 days
after sentence is imposed) or before the execution of sentence. See Ex parte State
of Alabama (In re: Brandon Wayne Utley) CR-11-244 (Ala. Crim. App. April 27,
2012).

An application for probation stays the execution of sentence until the application
is denied. Canada v. State, 429 So. 2d 1127, 1129 (Ala. Crim. App. 1982).

The court may set conditions of probation, some of which are set out in
§ 15-22-52 in a non-exclusive list and the probationer must be given written
notice of these conditions. ARCrP, 27.1.

19 The 5 year probationary-term limitation for felony sentences, in § 15-22-54, does not apply to split
sentences per Code § 15-18-8. Burge v. State, 623 So. 2d 450 (Ala. Crim. App. 1993).
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e The party placed on probation must accept the conditions of probation for the
order of probation to become effective. Markley v. State, 507 So. 2d 1043
(Ala.Crim.1987).

e At his or her discretion, a judge may suspend the execution of a sentence and
place the defendant on probation, or suspend the execution of a sentence, impose
a fine, and place the defendant on probation. § 15-22-50.

e Straight probation is not available for sentences greater than 15 years.
8§ 15-22-50.

e The period of straight probation may not exceed 5 years for a felon and 2 years
for a misdemeanant. §15-22-54(a).

e The period of straight probation may not exceed 3 years for a youthful offender.
§ 15-19-6(a)(2).

e Consecutive sentences of probation for multiple counts are not allowed. Ex parte
Jackson, 415 So. 2d 1169, 1170. (Ala. 1982) (interpreting the youthful offender
statute, § 15-19-6); Minshew v. State, 975 So. 2d 395, 397 (Ala. Crim. App. 2007)
(in dictum applying Jackson to adults).

e During the period of probation, the conditions of probation may be modified upon
notice to the probationer and the opportunity to be heard.

e When the conditions or probation or suspension of sentence are completed, the
trial court “shall, by order duly entered on its minutes, discharge the defendant.”
§ 15-22-54(a).

e Upon the recommendation of the supervising probation officer, the court may
terminate all authority and supervision over the probation prior to the original end
date of the probation period where the probationer has met all of the conditions of
probation over a sufficient portion of the probation period. 815-22-54(Db).

Procedures for Probation Violations (§ 15-22-54)
The trial court retains jurisdiction of the matter and the defendant during the period of

probation and the period of probation may be continued, extended, or terminated by the
court.

e No extension of probation may extend the probation beyond the period allowed
by law as a maximum probationary period. § 15-22-54(a).

e During the period of probation, the court may issue a warrant for the arrest of the

probationer for violation of the conditions of probation or may entertain a petition
from the supervising officer to revoke the probation. § 15-22-54(c) and (d).
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e If the probationer violates the conditions of probation, the court after notice and a

hearing, may

o Continue the probation and suspension of sentence.

o0 Issue a warning to the probationer that further violations could result in
revocation.

o0 Conduct a formal or informal conference with the probationer.

0 Modify the conditions of probation, including short periods of
incarceration, not to exceed 90 days.

0 Revoke the probation and impose the original suspended sentence or any
legal lesser sentence (unless the offender is eligible for limited revocation
only as described below). § 15-22-54(d)(1)e.

o Continue the probation and order participation in community corrections,
county work release, community service, intensive probation supervision,
participate in a residential or out-patient substance abuse treatment
program, and/or participate and complete a Life Skills Influenced by
Freedom and Education Tech (LIFETech) residential program.

o0 Conduct a formal or informal conference with the probationer to
reemphasize the necessity of compliance with the conditions of probation.

0 Modify the conditions of probation or suspension of execution of
sentence, which conditions may include the addition of short periods of
confinement, not to exceed 90 days incarceration in a county jail, a
facility of the Department of Corrections, or work release type facility, if
available.

0 Revoke probation and require the defendant to serve a term of not more

than 90 days imprisonment in a Department of Corrections facility, which
may include participation in the Restart program, LIFETech program, or a
technical violator program or, if no space is available in a Department of
Corrections facility, not more than 90 days in the county jail.

e In addition to the above, there are special rules that apply to some eligible
offenders as defined in § 15-22-54(e)(2) for administrative violations as defined
in § 15-22-54(e)(1).

(0}

“Eligible offenders” are nonviolent offenders serving a probationary term
who have an administrative violation only, no pending criminal charges,
no new convictions while on probation and have not been found by a court
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on at least 2 previous occasions to have violated conditions of probation.
§ 15-22-54(e)(2).

o “Administrative violations” are those violations which do not constitute a
violation of law, possession, receipt, or transportation of any firearm,
prohibited contact with any victim, and do not present a danger to the
health, safety or welfare of any person. § 15-22-54(e)(1).

o0 Nonviolent offenders are those offenders who have not been convicted of
a violent offense as defined in 8 12-25-32 and who are not on probation
for a crime the court finds involved actual or attempted physical harm or
injury to any person. § 15-22-54(e)(4).

Time imposed upon revocation of probation of an “eligible offender” cannot
exceed 90 days imprisonment in the Department of Corrections and may include
participation in the Department of Corrections Restart or LIFETech programs, or
technical violator programs, or, if space is unavailable in the Department of
Corrections, in the county jail.** § 15-22-54(d)(1)f.

When revoking probation and ordering confinement, the court must consider the
following:

The total time spent in confinement may not exceed the term of confinement of
the original sentence.

The court must give full credit to the probationer for time spent in full-time
confinement in state prisons, county jails, and state technical violator programs.

Credit for other penalties is at the discretion of the court, with the presumption
that other penalties would receive half credit.

The court should give significant weight to the time spent on probation in
substantial compliance.

“[T]he trial court [has a duty] to take some affirmative action, either by a statement
recorded in the transcript or by written order, to state its reasons for revoking probation,
with appropriate reference to the evidence supporting those reasons.” McCoo v. State,
921 So. 2d 450 (Ala. 2005) (emphasis added); ARCrP 27.6(f).

' NOTE: Provision is made for resentencing “eligible offenders” whose probation was revoked prior to
the limitations set out in § 15-22-54(d)(1)f and who meets the additional requirements set out therein. See
8§ 15-22-54.1 and forms set out in Appendix E of this Manual.
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Standards for Revoking Probation

Facts that the judge considers when deciding to revoke probation do not have to
be proved beyond a reasonable doubt. At a probation hearing, hearsay is
admissible. However, a decision to revoke probation is not permitted on the basis
of hearsay alone. Sams v. State, 48 So. 3d 665 (Ala. 2010); Brazery v. State,
6 So. 3d 559 (Ala. Crim. App. 2008).

“[A] ‘mere arrest’ or the filing of charges is an insufficient basis for revoking
one's probation. Before revoking probation because the probationer has been
arrested, the trial court must be reasonably satisfied that the underlying charge
against the probationer is true.” Gerstenschlager v. State, 999 So. 2d 590
(Ala. Crim. App. 2008) (quoting Hunter v. State, 782 So. 2d 845, 846 (Ala. Crim.
App. 2000)).

“Although a probationer does not have an unqualified right to counsel at a
probation-revocation hearing, it is incumbent upon the sentencing court to
determine whether the probationer has such a right before revoking probation....
[T]he sentencing court shall ‘[a]dvise the probationer of his or her right to request
counsel and appoint counsel to represent an indigent probationer if the
requirements of Rule 27.6(b) are met.”” Turner v. State, 981 So. 2d 444
(Ala. Crim. App. 2007) (quoting ARCrP 27.6(b)).

An indigent probationer at a probation revocation hearing is entitled to counsel if
either 1) probationer makes a colorable claim that the terms of probation were not
violated or 2) “if there are substantial reasons that justify or mitigate the violation
and that may make revocation inappropriate, and the reasons are complex or
otherwise difficult to develop or present.” ARCrP 27.6(b).

Other notes about probation:

The court can revoke the probation of a defendant on a split sentence. If a
non-eligible offender, the court can order a new split sentence. During the new
split sentence, the defendant will not be eligible for good time or parole.
However, the defendant’s total time of incarceration may not exceed the statutory
maximums under the split sentence law (3 years for a sentence of 15 years or less
and 5 years for a sentence of 20 years or less). Phillips v. State, 932 So. 2d 165
(Ala. Crim. App. 2005); Dixon v. State, 912 So. 2d 292 (Ala. Crim. App. 2005).

Probation ends when the probationer successfully fulfills the conditions of
probation or receives a formal discharge from the trial court. ARCrP 27.3.

If the probationer has not received a formal discharge from the court, the court
may instigate revocation hearings up until the maximum statutory period of
probation has expired. Gore v. State, 895 So. 2d 1061 (Ala. Crim. App. 2004).

If a probation sentence is the result of a plea agreement, an implied condition of
the probation is that the defendant will comply with the conditions of the plea
agreement (e.g., testify at trial). Adams v. State, 957 So. 2d 1157 (Ala. Crim.
App. 2006).
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e ARCrP 27.6 requires that the sentencing court - not necessarily the sentencing
judge - conduct a probation revocation hearing. Phillips v. State, 936 So. 2d 1101
(Ala. Crim. App. 2006).

e Probation cannot be revoked based on conduct that the defendant committed
before being sentenced to probation. Benson v. State, 17 So. 3d 693 (Ala. Crim.
App. 2009).

E. Restitution

Victim Restitution

In any case in which a defendant is convicted of criminal activity resulting in pecuniary
damages or loss to a victim, the court is required to conduct a restitution hearing and
order the defendant to “make restitution or otherwise compensate such victim for any
pecuniary damages.” § 15-18-67

In determining the manner, method or amount of restitution to be ordered, the court is
encouraged to take into consideration (§ 15-18-68):

e The financial resources of the defendant and the victim and the burden that the
manner or method of restitution will impose upon the victim or the defendant;

e The ability of the defendant to pay restitution on an installment basis or on other
conditions to be fixed by the court;

e The anticipated rehabilitative effect on the defendant regarding the manner of
restitution or the method of payment;

e Any burden or hardship upon the victim as a direct or indirect result of the
defendant’s criminal acts;

e The mental, physical, and financial well being of the victim.
Mandatory Restitution for Capital Offenses and Rape

Act 2009-632 amended § 15-18-68 to require mandatory restitution to victims of certain
crimes. This Act only applies to crimes committed after February 1, 2009.*2

e For convictions on a capital offense, the court must order restitution to the victim
of no less than $50,000.

12 Though the act demands restitution for convictions occurring after February 1, 2009, to avoid ex post
facto penalties the act must apply only to crimes committed after that date. See Cox v. State, 394 So. 2d
103, 106 (Ala. Crim. App 1981).
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e For a second or subsequent conviction of rape 1%, the court must order restitution
to the victim of no less than $10,000.

Court has Continuing Jurisdiction to Enforce Restitution (Ex parte Stewart)

Ex parte Stewart, 2011 WL 2573128 (Ala. 2011), decided on June 30, 2011, held that,
because restitution is part of a criminal sentence, a sentencing court has jurisdiction over
a proceeding to enforce payment of restitution after the defendant’s parole term has
expired. Id. at *6. The trial court in Stewart modified a defendant’s restitution payment
plan eight years after he completed his prison and parole sentences. The trial court did not
increase the defendant’s total amount owed or find him in contempt of court, so the
holding in Stewart does not address the legality of those remedies. See id. at *7.

Crime Victim Compensation Assessment

Ala. Code § 15-23-17 established the Alabama Crimes Victims Compensation
Commission, which distributes restitution to crime victims from a fund set up for that
purpose. Pursuant to that section:

e A person convicted or pleading guilty to a felony must pay no less than $50 and
no more than $10,000 to the fund.

e A person convicted or pleading guilty to a misdemeanor must pay no less than
$25 and no more than $1,000 to the fund.

e In imposing this penalty, the court shall consider factors such as the severity of
the crime, the prior criminal record, and the ability of the defendant to pay, as
well as the economic impact of the victim compensation assessment on the
dependents of the defendant.

e |If the court fails to specifically impose this assessment, the court clerk is
statutorily required to automatically assess the minimum amount.

See Rule 26.11 of the Alabama Rules of Criminal Procedure for information on the
collection of restitution and the court’s remedies for non-payment.
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F. Community Corrections

Community corrections offer a sentencing alternative to prison. Among the purposes of
community corrections are (1) to promote accountability of offenders to their local
communities through restitution to victims and community service and (2) to reduce the
number of offenders committed to correctional institutions. 8 15-18-173.

Thirty-four community corrections programs exist in 45 counties. Community corrections
service 2,832 inmates, representing 8.9% of the Department of Corrections jurisdictional
population®®. In addition, numerous defendants participate in community corrections as a
condition of probation.

Conditions for using community corrections (8 15-18-175)

A judge may sentence a defendant to a community corrections program as an alternative
to prison, as part of or in conjunction with a split sentence, or as a condition of probation.

No community corrections program may take participants in excess of its capacity. A
defendant’s participation in the program may not exceed the statutory maximum sentence
for his or her conviction.

To revoke a sentence to community corrections and order confinement, the court must
hold a hearing pursuant to § 15-18-175(c)(3).

Participants in community corrections must meet the following criteria:

e Must NOT be convicted of murder, kidnapping 1%, rape 1%, sodomy 1%, arson 1%,
trafficking in controlled substances, robbery 1%, sexual abuse 1%, forcible sex
crimes, lewd and lascivious acts upon a child, or assault 1* if the assault leaves
the victim permanently disfigured or disabled.

e Must NOT demonstrate a pattern of violent behavior as determined by the court
from prior convictions, past acts not resulting in convictions, and behavior while
in custody.

For the contact information of local community corrections offices, visit
http://www.doc.state.al.us/commcorr.asp.

13 ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, MONTHLY STATISTICAL REPORT FOR MARCH 2011: FISCAL
YEAR 2011 (2011), available at http://www.doc.state.al.us/docs/MonthlyRpts/2011-03.pdf.
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G. Drug Courts

During fiscal year 2009, 43% of felony convictions were for drug crimes.** During that
same period, 37% of prison admissions were for drug crimes.”> The Department of
Corrections is the largest provider of substance abuse treatment in the state.

In response to the impact of substance abuse on the criminal justice system, Alabama has
implemented the widespread use of drug courts throughout the state. As of January 2011,
there were 62 drug courts operating in 58 counties, with 5 more counties set to open drug
courts later in the year.™

Drug courts are alternatives to prison designed to address the substance abuse problems
that lead to the commission of crimes. Drug courts coordinate the efforts of judges,
prosecutors, defense attorneys, law enforcement, and treatment services toward drug
treatment in a non-adversarial setting. The following excerpts from the state Drug Court
Guidelines give insight into how drug courts may be used during sentencing:

B. Mission Statement

The mission of Drug Court is to enhance public safety and reduce
recidivism of nonviolent, drug affected offenders through a
non-adversarial approach that involves intensive supervision, substance
abuse treatment/education services, employment, and personal
accountability, resulting in positive changes in criminal and addictive
behaviors for the purpose of reintegrating offenders into society as
positive, law-abiding and taxpaying citizens. . . .*’

E. Entry

1. If permitted by the local Drug Court, an offender may enter Drug
Court as a condition of the following:

Pretrial release

Pretrial diversion or deferred prosecution

Probation revocation

Jail

Prison

Parole

Community Corrections

Release or diversion from a correctional facility

S@ e o0 o

14 See ALABAMA SENTENCING COMMISSION, 2011 REPORT 29, 31 (2011).

15 See id. at 32.

18 For a map of drug courts in the state and a directory of contacts for individual drug courts, visit
http://aadcp.alacourt.gov.

7 ALABAMA ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE OF COURTS, DRUG COURT GUIDELINES 2010 8 (2010), available at
http://aadcp.alacourt.gov/pdfs/AOC Adult Drug Court Guidelines.pdf.

50



I.
J.

Plea/written agreement
Conviction

2. Entry into Drug Court shall be pursuant to a written Plea Agreement
between the drug offender and the Drug Court.

3. All offenders shall be made aware that entry into Drug Court is
voluntary. Offenders have a right to remain on the regular criminal
court docket if they wish and shall not be forced or coerced to enter
into Drug Court against their own will.

4. Possible referral sources for Drug Courts may include, but are not
limited to, jail staff, defense counsel, law enforcement, other judges
and/or self-referral. . . .*8

F. Disqualifying Factors

1. An offender is not eligible for admission into Drug Court if the
offender meets any of the following criteria:

a.

b.

Is non-drug/alcohol user

Is required to register as a sex offender or currently charged
with a sexual offense

Is charged with any degree of Trafficking, Distribution or
Manufacturing of a controlled substance

Has a pending violent criminal charge against him or her or
any felony charge in which a firearm, deadly weapon or
dangerous instrument was used

Has been convicted of a violent felony offense or any felony
charge in which a firearm, deadly weapon or dangerous
instrument was used

Has been adjudicated as a youthful offender or delinquent as a
juvenile for a violent felony offense or any felony in which a
firearm, deadly weapon or dangerous instrument was used

Holds a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or permit, and any
other operator of a commercial motor vehicle that is subject to
Part 383 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.

B1d. at 11.
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2. If an offender would like to be eligible for Drug Court but holds a
CDL or permit, the offender must surrender his/her CDL/permit before
being eligible for Drug Court. . . .*°

H. Department of Corrections

1. The Alabama Drug Offender Accountability Act authorizes Drug
Courts to accept inmates through a Re-entry program if the local
Drug Court chooses to adopt a Re-entry program.

2. The DOC shall develop and provide a Re-entry form for each DOC
facility. The Reentry form should be kept in the individual facility’s
law library to allow easy access for a potential Drug Court
participant. The individual DOC facility should inform all inmates of
their ability to apply for Drug Court.

3. It is the inmate’s responsibility to complete the Re-entry form and
mail the form to the Drug Court in the same county in which the
inmate was sentenced.?

4. at 12.
201d. at 16.
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Appendix A

Alabama Sex Offender Registration and
Community Notification Act
Act 2011-640

On July 1, 2011, the Alabama Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification
Act (Act 2011-640) went into effect. The Act repeals Ala. Code § 13A-11-200 and
8 13A-11-201, which cover sex offender registration, as well as the entirety of Title 15,
Chapter 20, the criminal procedure portion of the Code relating to sex offenses. The bill
is over 19,000 words long and is summarized in the following pages.

Important changes implemented by Act 2011-640:

Offenders must now register four times a year.
Homeless sex offenders must check in once a week.

An offender must receive a travel permit to be away from a residence for more
than three days.

Juveniles adjudicated of serious sex crimes or multiple sex crimes are subject to
registration for life.

Offenders must now provide email addresses and other internet identifiers when
registering.

Offenders must pay $10 for each registration.

It is now a Class C felony to hire a sex offender to work near children or to aid a
sex offender to avoid registration.

Sexual predators are required to wear a GPS tracking device for 10 years, at their
own expense.

Section-by-Section Highlights of Act 2011-640

All violations of the Act are Class C felonies, unless otherwise noted.

Section 3: Adult sex offenders and juvenile sex offenders adjudicated of more
than one sex offense are subject to the Act for life.
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Section 4: Defines terms. Most notably broadens the definition of “residence” to
include “any mobile or transitory living quarters or locations that have no specific
mailing address,” so as to include the whereabouts of homeless persons.

Section 5: The Act applies to those convicted of:

a.

g.

Rape, sodomy, sexual misconduct (court can exempt juveniles), sexual
torture, sexual abuse, indecent exposure (court can exempt juveniles),
enticing a child, promoting prostitution, child pornography, unlawful
imprisonment, kidnapping with the intent of sexual abuse, incest,
transmitting obscene material to a child by computer, engaging in a sex act
with a student, sexual conduct with a student, electronic solicitation of a
child, traveling to meet a child for an unlawful sex act, human trafficking,
custodial sexual misconduct

Solicitation, attempt, or conspiracy of the above
An equivalent offense as defined by an earlier state law

A crime committed in any U.S. jurisdiction that would have been one of
the above offenses if committed in Alabama

A crime that made someone a sex offender in another jurisdiction
Any crime in which an element of the crime is one of the above offenses

Any crime found to be committed with a sexual motivation

Section 6: Creates a procedure by which the prosecuting attorney may allege that
any crime is committed with a sexual motivation, which must be proved beyond a
reasonable doubt, or the judge in a juvenile proceeding may adjudicate any crime
to have been committed with a sexual motivation.

Section 7:

a. Demands that the offender provide the following information when

registering: all names and nicknames, date of birth, social security
number, address of all residences, name and address of any school the
offender will attend, description of all vehicles used by the sex offender,
all telephone numbers used by the sex offender, all email addresses, all
instant message identifiers, all other monikers used for identification on
the Internet, a current photograph, a physical description, fingerprints and
palm prints, a DNA sample, a photocopy of driver license or ID card,
photocopy of passport and immigration documents, professional licensing
information, a full criminal conviction.

54



b. The offender must sign a form outlining his responsibilities.

Section 8: The following information about each offender will be provided to the
public: names, addresses, addresses of schools the offender attends, description of
vehicles, a current photograph, a physical description, criminal history, text of the
statute the offender violated, status of the offender. Other identifying information
will not be provided to the public.

Section 9:

a. Thirty days prior to release from prison or jail, the offender must declare
where he intends to live and provide registration information. Local law
enforcement in the place the offender intends to live must notify the public
of the offender’s presence.

b. If the offender cannot provide an address, the offender will be transferred
to the custody of sheriff of county that convicted the offender. The
offender must register before release.

c. If the offender refuses to provide registration information before release,
the offender will be charged with violating this Act and re-arrested
immediately upon release. The offender loses all good time credit.

Section 10:

a. The offender must register in person with law enforcement in each county
where he intends to reside, work, or go to school, within three business
days of any of the following events:

I. Release from incarceration
ii. Establishing or terminating a residence
iii. Accepting, transferring, or terminating employment
iv. Beginning, transferring, or terminating school attendance
v. A change in any of the required registration information

b. The offender must register during his birth month and every three months
thereafter.

Section 11:
a. Offenders may not do the following:
i.  Establish or maintain a residence or any living accommodation

within 2,000 feet (0.38 mile) of a school, childcare facility, or
residence of a victim or immediate family member of a victim.
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ii.  Establish or maintain a residence or any living accommodation
(including overnight visits) with a minor. This prohibition does not
apply if the offender is the parent, grandparent, stepparent, sibling,
or stepsibling or the minor - unless:

1.

2.

parental rights have been or are being terminated,

a minor family member was the victim of the offender’s
crime,

the offender lived with the victim of the crime at the
time of its commission,

the offender has been convicted of a sex offense
involving a child under 12, or

the offender has been convicted of a sex crime involving
forcible compulsion of a minor.

b. An offender establishes a residence wherever he or she:

i.  Resides for three or more consecutive days.

ii.  Resides following release.

iii.  Spends 10 or more aggregate days during a calendar month.

iv.  Vacates or fails to spend three or more consecutive days at his or
her residence without notifying law enforcement.

Section 12: A homeless sex offender:

a. Is asex offender who does not have a fixed residence.

b. Must report where he or she resides to law enforcement once every seven

days.

c. Must abide by the restrictions in Section 11.

d. Must provide the following when reporting: name, date of birth, social
security number, a detailed description of the location or location where he
or she resided during the week, and a list of the locations he or she plans
to reside for the upcoming week.
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Section 13:
a. An adult sex offender

i. May not work or volunteer at any facility or business services
primarily to children.

ii. May not work or volunteer within 2,000 feet (0.38 mile) of a
school or childcare facility.

iii. convicted of a sex offense involving a child under 12, may not
work or volunteer, within 500 feet of a playground, park, athletic
field or facility, or any other facility whose primary purpose is
caring for, educating, or entertaining minors.

b. The owner or operator of any facility or organization that provides
services primarily to children may not knowing employ or accept
volunteer work from an adult sex offender.

Section 14: Sex offenders from other states must register upon establishing a
residence, working, or starting school in Alabama. Within 30 days of registration,
the offender must provide a certified copy of his conviction.

Section 15: The following restrictions apply when a sex offender wishes to leave
his or her residence:

a. To leave his or her county of residence for three or more consecutive days,
the offender must report such plans in person to local law enforcement and
complete a travel permit form prior to leaving. Local law enforcement
must transmit the offender’s travel plans to the counties the offender will
be visiting.

b. To leave the country, the offender must report such plans in person to
local law enforcement at least 21 days prior to leaving and complete a
travel permit. Local law enforcement must transmit the offender’s travel
plans to the U.S. Marshals.

c. Upon return to his or her county of residence, the offender must report to
local law enforcement.

Section 16: No offender may contact, directly or indirectly by any means, a
victim. No offender may harass a victim or any family member.

Section 17: An offender convicted of a sex offense involving a minor may not

loiter within 500 feet of a college or university, a bus stop, or any business or
facility that primarily entertains, educates or entertains minors. To loiter is to
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remain on the property without a legitimate purpose or for longer than is
necessary to achieve a legitimate purpose. Loitering is not actionable until after
the offender has been asked to leave by an authorized person.

Section 18: All sex offenders must possess at all times a valid state-issued ID that
bears a designation that the holder is a sex offender. Indigent sex offenders may
be provided such an ID at no cost. Defacing the ID is a crime.

Section 19: Sexually violent predators are those who have committed more than
one sexually violent offense or have committed one sexually violent offense and
are likely to commit another (as determined by the court using factors listed in
this section). A sexually violent offense is:

a. A sex offense involving a child under 12.
b. A predatory sex offense.

c. A sex offense committed by force, violence, fear of bodily harm, duress,
menace, or threats of retaliation.

d. Any offense so deemed by the sentencing court.
e. Inchoate forms of the above offenses.

Section 20: The Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center will implement a
system of active and passive electronic monitoring of sex offenders. Sexually
violent predators and those convicted of a Class A felony involving a child under
12 must wear a monitoring device under the system for no less than 10 years after
release from incarceration. The Board of Pardons and Paroles or a court may
require a monitoring device for other sex offenders as a condition of release.
Costs of monitoring will be charged to the offender.

Section 21: When a sex offender plans to establish a residence, the chief of police
or the sheriff must notify by mail or hand delivery all residents living within
1,000-2,000 feet (depending on jurisdiction) of the new residence and all schools
and child care facilities within three miles of the new residence.

Section 22: For each registration event, the offender must pay a fee of $10 to
defray the cost of registration. The fee is waived for offenders deemed indigent by
a court. However, the court must periodically review an offender’s indigent status.
Failure to pay the fee is either a Class B misdemeanor (1% offense) or a Class A
misdemeanor (2™ and subsequent offenses).

Section 23: Provides a procedure to petition the court for relief from the residency

restrictions of Section 11 for terminally ill or permanently immobile sex
offenders.
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Section 24: Provides a procedure to petition the court for relief from registration
and notification for sex offenders meeting all of the following criteria:

a.

Convicted of rape 2", sodomy 2", sexual abuse 2", sexual misconduct, or
an inchoate form of these crimes.

Not previously convicted of a sex offense.

The crime did not involve force and was only a crime because of the
victim’s age.

At the time of the offense, the victim was 13 years of age or older.

At the time of the offense, the offender was not more than 4 years older
than the victim.

Section 25: Provides a procedure to petition the court for relief from employment
restrictions for all sex offenders EXCEPT those convicted of rape 1%, sodomy 1%,
sexual abuse 1%, a sex offense involving a child under 12, sexual torture, or an
inchoate version of these crimes.

Section 26: Juvenile sex offenders must undergo a sex offender treatment
program.

Section 27: The sentencing court, using factors listed in this section, will
determine if a juvenile sex offender is subject to the notification provisions of
Section 21. Three types of notification are available for juveniles:

a. Low risk of re-offense: notification only to the offender’s school principal.

b. Moderate risk of re-offense: notification to schools and child care facilities
within three miles of the offender’s residence.

c. High risk of re-offense: full notification as provided in Section 21.

Section 28:

a. Juveniles adjudicated delinquent of rape 1%, sodomy 1%, sexual abuse 1%,
sexual torture, or an inchoate version of these crimes are subject to
notification and registration for life.

b. A juvenile subject to lifetime registration and notification may petition the

court for relief 25 years after release from the offense leading to
registration.
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c. All other juveniles are subject to the Act for 10 years following release
from the offense leading to registration.

Section 29: The parents or guardians of a juvenile sex offender must register the
offender until the offender reaches majority.

Sections 30 & 32: The procedures and conditions for registration of a juvenile sex
offender are the same as those for adult offenders EXCEPT that a juvenile
offender required to register for 10 years must register only once a year.

Section 31: During the period of registration, a juvenile sex offender may not
work at any facility that provides services primarily to children. It is a felony for
the owner or operator of such a place to knowingly hire a juvenile sex offender.

Section 33: The records of juvenile sex offenders may not be destroyed for
75 years.

Section 34: Establishes the procedure for a juvenile sex offender subject to
lifetime registration to petition the court for release from registration.

Section 35: A juvenile sex offender is a sex offender who has not attained the age
of 18 at the time of the offense and has not been previously adjudicated
delinquent of a sex offense.

Section 36: A sex offender may not change his or her name except for religious
purposes and due to marriage. A name change requires registration.

Section 37: Establishes notification procedures in the event that a sex offender
fails to register.

Section 38: If a sex offender escapes from custody, the responsible agency must
notify within 24 hours the Department of Public Safety, local law enforcement
who had jurisdiction at conviction, the sheriff of the county where the offender
escaped, and the chief of police of every municipality in that county.

Section 39: Harboring, assisting, concealing, or withholding information about a
sex offender is a crime IF the person doing so has reason to believe that the sex
offender is required to register and has not done so and assists the offender to
avoid law enforcement.

Section 40: The clerk of the court must forward a certified copy of a sex
offender’s adjudication or conviction within 30 days of sentencing to the
Department of Public Safety. Failure to do so is a Class A misdemeanor.

Section 41: Requires the clerk of the court to forward victim information to the
Attorney General’s Office of Victim Assistance upon request of the Attorney
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General or the prosecuting attorney. Requires the Board of Pardons and Paroles to
do the same when providing notice of a parole hearing for a sex offender.

Section 42: Establishes the procedures for sharing and disseminating the
information collected under this Act.

Section 43: No court may waive the requirements of this Act, except as specified
in the Act.

Section 44: Gives the Department of Public Safety authority to propagate rules to
enforce the Act.

Section 45: In addition to any other punishment, a sex offender must pay a fine of
$250.
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Appendix B

Additional Criminal Law Acts Enacted during the
2011-2012 Legislative Sessions

Act 2011-535, amended by Act 2012-491 Immigration (new offenses only)

Class C Felonies:

e Harboring 5 or more unlawfully present aliens (Section 13).

e Dealing in false identification documents or committing vital records identity
fraud, with some exceptions for underage fake ID’s (Section 14).

e Attempting to enter into a business transaction with the state as an unlawful alien
(Section 30).

Class A Misdemeanors:

e A state employee failing to report a violation of the act (Sections 5 and 6).
e Making fraudulent statements regarding immigration status (Section 7).

e Harboring an unlawful alien (one count per alien) (Section 13).

e Failing to carry alien registration (Section 10).

e Working as an unlawful alien (Section 11).

e Soliciting the work of an unlawful alien while stopping traffic (Section 11).

Act 2011-621 (SB 67) Person Convicted of DUI - Double Minimum Sentence

Amends section 32-5A-191, providing a mandatory sentence of at least double the
minimum punishment for a person convicted of DUI with a BAC of 0.15. This act also
provides a one year minimum sentence for a misdemeanor offense and a minimum one
year revocation of driving privileges. In addition, if a person over 21 years old has a child
under 14 in the vehicle during the offense, the offender must be sentenced to at least
double the applicable minimum punishment.
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Act 2011-613 (HB 361) Ignition Interlock Device - Driving After Conviction

This Act adds section § 32-5A-191.4. A person convicted of a DUI must install an
ignition interlock system and cannot remove the device for at least two years following
reinstatement of a driver’s license.

Act 2011-294 (SB 170) Boats and Vessels - Made and Sold After 1985

This Act prohibits the unauthorized alteration of identification numbers or registration
identification relating to vessels, outboard motors, vessel trailers, or identifiable
component parts.

A person who willfully removes or falsifies the identification number with the intent to
conceal the vessel’s identity is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. A person who buys,
sells, receives, possesses, or disposes of a vessel, outboard motor, vessel trailer, or other
component of a vessel with knowledge that the identification has been removed or
falsified is also guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, and the vessel or component can
lawfully be recovered by the owner or insurance company.

Act 2011-295 (SB 54) Notaries Public — To eliminate the Distinction Between
County and State at Large Notaries

A person who performs a notarial act without a commission, including an expired
commission, is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.

Act 2011-646 (SB 433) Honeybees — Shipped or Moved Into Alabama

This Act amends Section 2-14-4 relating to honeybees shipped or moved into Alabama. It
provides for the destruction of hives that were brought into this state and do not follow
the Department of Agriculture and Industry’s requirements.

Act 2011-534 (HB 51) Indecent Exposure — Increased Penalty

This Act amends Section 13A-6-68, increasing the penalty to a Class C felony for a third
or subsequent conviction.

Act 2011-542 (HB 115) Seizing a dog act
This Act provides procedures for seizing a dog involved in illegal fighting, expedites the
disposition process, requires a bond posting to care for the seized dog under certain

conditions, and requires forfeiture of the dog if the violator fails to post bond within
72 hours or if a circuit court grants a civil petition seeking forfeiture.
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Act 2011-550 (HB 219) Assault 2™

This Act adds to the definition of peace officer for the crime of Assault 2" (intending to
cause physical harm, causing physical harm, and intending to interfere with the lawful
duties of a peace officer). Definition of “peace officer doing his lawful duty” now
includes a uniformed, off-duty peace officer who is acting with the employing law
enforcement agency’s approval. This act does not extend this classification for worker’s
compensation purposes or other benefits and does not extend any tort liability.

Act 2011-555 (HB 261) Punishment for sex offenders

A person over age 21 who commits first-degree rape, sodomy, or sexual torture against a
victim who is age six or under shall receive life imprisonment without the possibility of
parole.

Act 2011-570 (HB 450) Firearms

A person who solicits, persuades, encourages, or entices a licensed dealer or private seller
to transfer firearms or ammunition, which the person knows is illegal, is guilty of a
Class C felony. A person is also guilty of a Class C felony if the person provides false
information with the intent to deceive a dealer or seller regarding the transaction’s
legality. The Act does not apply to a peace officer acting in official capacity or a person
acting at the direction of a peace officer.

Act 2011-581 (HB 512) Domestic Violence

Aggravated stalking or first-degree assault provides a basis for first-degree domestic
violence if the condition of the victim’s status as spouse, parent, etc. is met.

Criminally negligent homicide is no longer a basis for second-degree domestic violence.
However, intimidating a witness, stalking, burglary second or third, or first-degree
criminal mischief now provide a basis for second-degree domestic violence.

Criminal surveillance, harassing communications, third-degree criminal trespass, criminal
mischief second or third, or third-degree arson, now provide a basis for third-degree
domestic violence.

For third-degree domestic violence, the Act removes the requirement that a defendant be
imprisoned 40 hours. However, the minimum term of imprisonment is now 30 days
(removes the double minimum term) if a defendant willfully violates a protection order
when committing third-degree domestic violence. Second conviction of third-degree
domestic violence is a Class A misdemeanor with a minimum term of imprisonment of
10 days (no consideration of reduction). Third conviction for third-degree domestic
violence is a Class C felony. Convictions in municipal courts are included.
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The Act adds domestic violence by strangulation or suffocation to the definition of
“domestic violence” for the purposes of an arrest without a warrant.

Law enforcement must now determine who was the predominant aggressor (not primary)
when both parties are complaining or have injuries. The Act adds whether injuries are
offensive or defensive in nature as a factor to be considered.

Act 2011-574 (HB 463) Criminal penalties for obstructing an AG investigation.
Provides that a person is guilty of a Class C felony if the person falsifies or conceals
information to a prosecutor or investigator in the AG’s staff (rather than any member of
the AG’s staff).

Act 2011-688 (SB 137) Liability insurance act

Class C felony: A person, with fraudulent intent, (1) altering or forging an insurance card
to make it valid or (2) making or selling invalid/counterfeit insurance card (or other
evidence of insurance).

Class C misdemeanor: (1) operating vehicle without liability policy, commercial policy,
bond or deposit in accord with this chapter; or (2) registering or attempting to register a
motor vehicle with notice of a cancellation or termination of insurance.

Class B misdemeanor for a subsequent violation of failure to maintain vehicle liability
insurance.

Act 2011-633 (SB 224) Secondary metals recyclers

Creates several Class A misdemeanors for improper use of junk cars.

Creates a Class C felony for knowingly and willfully crushing a car without proper title.
Creates a Class C felony for operating car crushing equipment without a license.

Act 2012-426 (HB 278) Secondary metals recyclers

Creates a Class B misdemeanor, first offense; Class A misdemeanor second offense; and
a Class C felony for a third offense within ten years for failing to maintain for one year

the required records concerning the purchase of covered metals.

Creates a Class C felony for giving false information for money or other consideration
from a secondary metals recycler in return for metal property.

Creates a Class B misdemeanor, first offense; Class A misdemeanor second offense; and

a Class C felony for a third offense within ten years for violating a “hold” order
concerning covered metals.
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Creates a Class C for intentionally damaging certain communications cables or power
transporters or other equipment associated with communications or power transportation
or other enumerated objects containing metal. This may be raised to a Class B felony if
the damage or destruction creates an “imminent danger”.

Creates a Class C felony, first offense; Class B felony, second offense; and a
Class A felony for a third offense within ten years for possession of stolen utility access
covers, manhole covers, storm drain covers, grave markers, vases, memorials, statues,
plaques, or other bronze objects used at a cemetery, with the knowledge the property was
stolen.

Creates a Class B misdemeanor, first offense; Class A misdemeanor second offense; and
a Class C felony for a third offense within ten years for possessing numerous enumerated
stolen items with knowledge the property was stolen.

Act 2012-432 (HB 400) Digital Crime Act
Creates as a Class A misdemeanor the crime of computer tampering.

Creates as a Class C felony the crime of computer tampering if the intent of the
tampering is to commit an unlawful act or obtain a benefit, or defraud or harm another.

Creates as a Class B felony the crime of computer tampering if the violation results in a
loss greater than $2,500 or if the intent is to obtain a benefit, commit an unlawful act, or
defraud or harm another and there is an interruption or impairment of governmental
operation or public communication, transportation, or utility service.

Creates as a Class A felony the crime of computer tampering if the violation results in a
loss greater than $100,000 or if the offense causes physical injury.

Creates as a class B felony the crime of computer tampering if the tampering relates to
access to the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center information system or
regulated data for each record accessed.

Creates as a Class C felony the crime of encoded data fraud.

Creates as a Class C felony the crime of phishing and provides for civil suits by affected
parties or the district attorney or attorney general to enjoin this activity and provide
compensation for damages.

Repeals 8§ 13A-8-100 through 13A-8-103, the Alabama Computer Crime Act of 1985.
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Act 2012-380 (HB 75) Stalking

Re-designates stalking and aggravated stalking as defined in §813A-6-90 and 13A-6-91
as stalking in the first degree and aggravated stalking in the first degree and adds the
crimes of stalking in the second degree and aggravated stalking in the second degree.

Stalking in the second degree, harassment that causes material harm to the mental or
emotional health or fear for employment, business or career, is a Class B misdemeanor.

Aggravated stalking in the second degree (stalking in the second degree in violation of a
court order) is a Class C felony.

Act 2012-209 (HB 17) False Records

Broadens the definition of the crime of offering a false instrument for recording to
include recordings offered against a public servant with the intent to defraud, intimidate,
or harass the public servant or impede the public servant in the performance of his or her
duties, and to make such additional offense a Class C felony.

Establishes a procedure for removing false recordings.

Act 2012-382 (HB 99) Impersonation

Created as a Class A misdemeanor the crime of impersonating certain public officials or
employees in connection with a sham legal process or proceeding.

Act 2012-303 (HB 238) Funeral Disruption

Increases from 500 feet to 1,000 feet the “protest free zone” from the entrance of a
facility being used for funerals or memorial services.

Act 2012-393 (HB 376) Possession with Intent to Distribute a Controlled Substance

Creates as a new Class B felony the crime of Possession with Intent to Distribute based
on various amounts of specific substances (not including marihuana).

Act 2012-267 (SB 208) Expanding the Definition of Controlled Substances

Expands the definition of controlled substance to add cathinone compounds, certain
named chemical compounds of synthetic cannabinoids, and controlled substance analogs
(compounds having a “structure which is chemically similar to the chemical structure of
any other controlled substance in Schedule I or I1).

Expands “trafficking” to include the additional controlled substances.
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Act 2012-237 (HB 363) Further Expansion of Controlled Substances Offenses

Adds possession of precursor chemicals enumerated in § 20-12-260 to Class C felony
possession definition.

Creates additional felonies for use, etc. with intent to deliver or sell, or manufacture with
intent to deliver or sell, or possession with intent to use to manufacture a controlled
substance as a Class C felony, and as a Class B felony if the person is in possession of a
firearm.

Adds attempts to solicit or conspire and adds ephedrine and pseudoephedrine to
violations under § 20-2-190; adds additional record keeping requirements for pharmacies;
and raises the penalty for violations to a Class A misdemeanor for the first offense and a
Class C felony for a second or subsequent offense.

Mandates that the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center implement a drug
offender tracking system pursuant to 8 20-2-190.2 and creates additional offenses
involving the sale of controlled substances involving drug offenders.

Authorizes restitution from offenders for costs of prosecution.

Act 2012-291 (HB 2) Texting while Driving

Makes it unlawful to write, send or read a text-based communication while driving.

The penalty provided is a fine; $25 for the first offense, $50 for the second offense, and
$75 for the third offense. The offender’s driver record is also credited with 2 points.

Act 2012-220 Bicycle signals

Authorizes the use of the right arm and hand to signal a right hand turn while riding a
bicycle.

Act 2012-465 Youthful Offender Amendment

Requires notice to the victim and an opportunity to be heard before the acceptance of a
Youthful Offender Application in a matter involving the intentional infliction of serious
injury or death of a victim.

Act 2012-428 (HB 318) Timber Theft

Adds removal of timber by deception to existing penalties.
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Act 2012-369 (HB369) Disarming a Law Enforcement Officer

Creates as a Class C felony the crime of disarming a law enforcement officer or
corrections officer in the performance of his or her duties.

Act 2012-368 (HB 16) Increase in penalty for Identity Theft

Raises the penalty for Identity Theft from a Class C to a Class B felony and provides a
seven year statute of limitations.

Adds using a false identity to gain employment in the offense.
Act 2012-316 (HB 340) Looting

Creates as a class C felony, a new crime of Looting during a declared state of disaster or
the existence of extreme peril.

Act 2012-473 (SB 386) Concerning the Alabama Sentencing Commission and
Presumptive Sentencing Standards

Mandates that, beginning October 1, 2013 the sentencing standards recommendations for
non-violent offenses will become presumptive rather than voluntary.

The recommendations for violent offenses will remain voluntary (§ 12-25-32(14)).
Redefines violent offense to include all degrees of burglary.

Requires the Sentencing Commission to modify the existing instructions and to adopt
aggravating and mitigating circumstances for departures from the presumptive

recommendations

Requires the Sentencing Commission to recommend a standard of appellate review to the
Legislature applicable to departures from presumptive sentencing recommendations.

Adds additional membership to the Sentencing Commission.
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Appendix C

Notable U.S. Supreme Court Cases from the
October 2010-2011 Terms

The following U.S. Supreme Court cases concerning the application of federal law to
state criminal law and procedure.

Brownv. Plata, _ U.S._ , 131 S.Ct. 1910 (May 23, 2011)
SEVERE PRISON OVERCROWDING IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL

At the time of the Plata decision, California’s prisons held 156,000 prisoners, roughly
double their intended capacity. In 1990, a federal district court held that California did
not provide constitutionally sufficient mental care to its prison population. By 2005, the
state had not remedied the situation, and the court ordered a receiver to oversee remedial
efforts. The receiver found that the state could not provide adequate mental health care
without reducing its prison population. A three-judge district court panel ordered
California to reduce its prison population to 137.5% of capacity. California appealed the
order.

The Supreme Court upheld the order. Writing for a five-justice majority, Justice Kennedy
agreed with the district court panel that “until the problem of crowding is overcome, it
will be impossible to provide constitutionally compliant care to California’s prison
population.” 131 S.Ct. at 1932. No other remedy could fix the prison system’s mental and
physical healthcare deficiencies. Overcrowding make it too difficult for prisoners to see a
doctor, creates “unsafe and unsanitary living conditions,” increases prison violence, and
forces the prison staff to spend almost all its time keeping order, leaving no time to
remedy constitutional violations. Id. at 1933-34.

Plata did not directly order California to release prisoners, but the decision does require
the state to comply with the 137.5% order of the district court panel. In addition to
prisoner release, the state was given the option to build more prisons or transfer prisoners
to local jails or other states. The Court also found that the district court panel did not err
in finding that California could reduce its prison population without affecting public
safety.

Note: Alabama is the only other state with prison overcrowding near the level of

California’s. To reduce its prison population to 137.5% of capacity, Alabama would have
to house roughly 7,360 fewer prisoners.
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Bullcoming v. New Mexico, _U.S. , 131 S.Ct. 2705 (June 23, 2011)
THE PERSON PREPARING A FORENSICS REPORT MUST TESTIFY AT TRIAL

Bullcoming was arrested for driving while intoxicated. The technician who prepared the
laboratory report demonstrating Bullcoming’s excessive blood alcohol level was put on
unpaid leave before trial. In his stead, the state presented another technician who was
familiar with the testing procedure to validate the report. Writing for the majority, Justice
Ginsburg held that, because the forensic report was testimonial, the Confrontation Clause
of the Sixth Amendment required the original preparer of the report, or someone who
observed the test, to appear during trial for cross examination.

Davis v. United States, _ U.S.__, 131 S.Ct. 2419 (June 16, 2011)

SEARCHES CONDUCTED IN RELIANCE ON BINDING JUDICIAL PRECEDENT
WILL NOT BE EXCLUDED

Police in Greenville, Alabama, arrested Davis after a routine traffic stop at which he gave
officers a false name. The officers searched his car and found an illegal handgun. Under
the Eleventh Circuit’s reading of New York v. Belton, 453 U.S. 454 (1981), the
controlling case at the time, the search of Davis’ car was legal. While his case was on
appeal, the U.S. Supreme Court decided Arizona v. Gant, 556 U.S. 332 (2009), under
which the search would have been illegal. Writing for the Court, Justice Alito held that
searches conducted in reliance on binding judicial precedent are not subject to the Fourth
Amendment exclusionary rule.

J.D.B v. North Carolina, __U.S.__, 131 S.Ct. 2394 (June 16, 2011)
A CHILD’S AGE PROPERLY INFORMS A MIRANDA CUSTODY ANALYSIS

Police questioned a 13-year old boy at school about a stolen digital camera after seeing
the student near the location of two home break-ins. They did not give him his Miranda
warning, allow him to call his legal guardian, or tell him he was free to leave the room.
The boy confessed to stealing the camera, and was judged delinquent by a juvenile court.
The North Carolina Supreme Court upheld the adjudication. The U.S. Supreme Court
reversed, with Justice Sotomayor writing for the majority. So long as a child’s age is
known or reasonably perceived by the interviewing officer, the child’s age should be
included as a factor in the Miranda custody analysis.
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Kentucky v. King, __U.S.__, 131 S.Ct. 1849 (May 16, 2011)

THE EXIGENT CIRCUMSTANCES RULE APPLIES WHERE LAW
ENFORCEMENT DOES NOT CREATE THE EXIGENCY

After a controlled buy of crack cocaine, officers pursued the suspect purchaser into an
apartment complex hallway with two doors. The officers did not know which apartment
the suspect entered. Smelling marihuana smoke from one of the apartments, the officers
knocked on the door of the apartment and announced their presence. Hearing what
sounded like destruction of evidence, the officers broke down the apartment door, found
marihuana and cocaine, and arrested King, who was in the apartment, on drug charges.
King appealed his subsequent conviction, arguing that the officers conducted an
unreasonable search in violation of the Fourth Amendment because the officers
themselves created the exigent circumstances when they pounded on the door. The
Supreme Court of Kentucky agreed and overturned the convicted.

The U.S. Supreme Court reversed, in an opinion written by Justice Alito. Those who
possess drugs are likely to destroy them when confronted with the possibility that the
drugs will be discovered by the police. This fact does not put an extra burden on police
when announcing their presence at the doorstep to a residence. It is the destruction of
evidence, and not the police presence that created the exigent circumstances in the
defendant’s case.

Michigan v. Bryant, _ U.S._, 131 S.Ct. 1143 (Feb. 28, 2011)

A GUNSHOT VICTIM’S DYING WORDS WERE NOT TESTIMONIAL, BUT
RATHER ASSISTED IN AN ONGOING EMERGENCY

Police found Anthony Covington dying in a gas station parking lot from a gunshot wound
to the abdomen. He told the police that Bryant had shot him, but then Covington died
hours later at a hospital. Prosecutors used Covington’s dying words, through testimony of
the police at the scene, to convict Bryant. Bryant argued that Covington’s words were
hearsay in violation of the Sixth Amendment Confrontation Clause. The U.S. Supreme
Court disagreed, in an opinion written by Justice Sotomayor. Because Covington had
been shot and his assailant was on the loose, Covington’s testimony had the primary
purpose of aiding police in an ongoing investigation. The testimony was, therefore, not
testimonial and did not violate the Confrontation Clause.
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Skinner v. Switzer, _ U.S.__, 131 S.Ct. 1289 (Mar. 7, 2011)

FAILURE TO PROVIDE EVIDENCE TO A DEFENDANT FOR DNA TESTING IS
ACTIONABLE AS A § 1983 CIVIL RIGHTS VIOLATION

Skinner was convicted of murdering two people. The police conducted DNA testing on
some, but not all, of the evidence collected at the scene. Skinner filed a habeas petition to
have the other evidence released for testing. The petition was denied. Skinner then filed a
8 1983 civil rights action to have the evidence released. The Fifth Circuit upheld a
dismissal of the action. The Supreme Court reversed and held that a § 1983 action in this
case is permissible.

Turner v. Rogers, _U.S._, 131 S.Ct. 2507 (June 20, 2011)

DEFENDANTS IN CIVIL CONTEMPT HEARINGS MUST BE REPRESENTED BY
COUNSEL OR BE PROTECTED BY PROCEDURAL SAFEGUARDS

At a contempt hearing, Turner was sentenced to 12 months in prison for failing to pay his
child support on numerous occasions. He was not represented by counsel and appealed
his contempt order. The Supreme Court, in a opinion written by Justice Breyer, held that
defendants in civil contempt hearings do not necessarily need to be represented by
counsel. However, when they are not, the proceeding must have adequate procedural
safeguards in place to reduce the possibility of an erroneous loss of liberty.

Miller v. Alabama. _ U.S. 132 S.Ct. 2455 (June 25, 2012)

THE EIGHTH AMENDMENT FORBIDS A SENTENCING SCHEME THAT
MANDATES LIFE IN PRISON WITHOUT POSSIBILITY OF PAROLE FOR
JUVENILE HOMICIDE OFFENDERS UNDER THE AGE OF 18 AT THE TIME OF
THE OFFENSE.

Miller, along with a friend, beat Miller’s neighbor and set fire to his trailer after an
evening of drinking and drug use. The neighbor died. Miller was initially charged as a
juvenile, but his case was removed to adult court, where he was charged with murder in
the course of arson. A jury found Miller guilty, and the trial court imposed a statutorily
mandated punishment of life without parole. The Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals
affirmed, holding that Miller’s sentence was not overly harsh when compared to his
crime, and that its mandatory nature was permissible under the Eighth Amendment.
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Arizonav. United States,  U.S. 132 S.Ct. 2492 (June 25, 2012)

THE SUPREMACY CLAUSE GIVES CONGRESS THE POWER TO PREEMPT
STATE ACTION WHEN CONGRESS HAS EXERCISED ITS POWER,
PREEMPTING STATE ACTION IN CERTAIN AREAS INVOLVING
IMMIGRATION.

Williams v. Hlinois, _ U.S. __ , 132 S.Ct. 2221 (June 25, 2012)

THE CONFRONTATION CLAUSE DOES NOT BAR THE EXPERT OPINION
TESTIMONY OF AN EXPERT RELYING ON THE LAB REPORT PREPARED BY
ANOTHER ANALYST.

An expert witness, relying on the DNA testing performed - and lab report prepared - by
another DNA analyst, gave her expert opinion that the DNA obtained from the victim
matched the defendant’s DNA. A four-Justice plurality (the Chief Justice and Justices
Alito, Kennedy, and Breyer) reasoned that the out-of-court statements (the lab report)
referenced by the expert to explain her assumptions “are not offered for their truth and
thus fall outside the scope of the Confrontation Clause.”

Southern Union Co. v. United States,  U.S. 132 S.Ct. 2221 (June 18, 2012)

THE RULE OF APPRENDI V. NEW JERSEY, 530 U.S. 466 (2000), THAT THE SIXTH
AMENDMENT REQUIRES A JURY TO FIND ANY FACT (OTHER THAN A PRIOR
CONVICTION) THAT INCREASES A CRIMINAL DEFENDANT’S MAXIMUM
POTENTIAL SENTENCE APPLIES TO SENTENCES OF CRIMINAL FINES.

The Court reiterated that under Apprendi and its progeny, “while judges may exercise
discretion in sentencing, they may not inflict punishment that the jury’s verdict alone
does not allow” (internal quotation marks omitted). While those earlier cases involved
sentences of imprisonment or death, the Court saw “no principled basis under Apprendi
for treating criminal fines differently.” Apprendi’s “core concern” is to reserve to the
jury “the determination of facts that warrant punishment” - and “[t]hat concern applies
whether the sentence is a criminal fine or imprisonment or death.” Simply put, criminal
fines “are penalties inflicted by the sovereign for the commission of offenses”; indeed,
they “were by far the most common form of noncapital punishment in colonial America.”
The Court thus found that if the amount of a fine is calculated in reference to a fact such
as duration of time, the jury, not the judge, must find that fact beyond a reasonable doubt.
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Blueford v. Arkansas,  U.S. _ , 132 S.Ct. 2044 (May 24, 2012)

THE DOUBLE JEOPARDY CLAUSE DOES NOT BAR RETRYING A DEFENDANT
ON THE GREATER OFFENSES OF CAPITAL MURDER AND FIRST-DEGREE
MURDER WHERE THE JURY FOREPERSON ANNOUNCED IN COURT THAT
THE JURY WAS “UNANIMOUS AGAINST” GUILT ON THOSE TWO OFFENSES
AND DEADLOCKED ON A LESSER-INCLUDED OFFENSE, THE JURY
RESUMED DELIBERATIONS, AND THE JUDGE DECLARED A MISTRIAL WHEN
THE JURY STILL COULD NOT REACH A VERDICT AFTER FURTHER
DELIBERATIONS AND FILED TO RETURN ANY VERDICT FORMS.

A one-year-old boy died from a severe head injury caused by defendant Alex Blueford,
the mother’s boyfriend. The State of Arkansas charged Blueford with capital murder,
which included three lesser offenses: first-degree murder, manslaughter, and negligent
homicide. At trial, the judge instructed the jury that it could consider the next lesser
offense only if it had a reasonable doubt as to defendant’s guilt on the preceding greater
offense; and that it could acquit the defendant only after it unanimously found him not
guilty of all charges. (This is known as an “acquittal-first” instruction.) A few hours into
deliberations, the jury foreperson informed the judge that it was “unanimous against”
capital murder and first-degree murder, it was deadlocked on manslaughter, and that it
had not reached negligent homicide. The judge instructed the jury to continue
deliberating. Blueford asked for new verdict forms to be submitted to the jury for capital
murder and first-degree murder, but the judge denied this request for a partial verdict.
About a half-hour later, the jury foreperson returned and stated they could not reach a
verdict. The judge declared a mistrial and discharged the jury. The state later sought to
retry Blueford on all counts. Relying on the Double Jeopardy Clause, Blueford moved to
dismiss the capital murder and first-degree murder counts. The trial court denied the
motion to dismiss and the Arkansas Supreme Court affirmed. The court ruled that the
foreperson had not acquitted Blueford of the greater offenses simply by disclosing the
jury’s mid-deliberation votes, and that the trial court did not err in denying Blueford’s
request to have new verdict forms given to the jury. In an opinion by Chief Justice
Roberts, the Court affirmed.
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Lafler v. Cooper, _ U.S. __ ,132 S.Ct. 1376 (March 21, 2012)

A DEFENDANT’S SIXTH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO EFFECTIVE COUNSEL IS
VIOLATED WHEN HIS COUNSEL PROVIDES DEFICIENT ADVICE NOT TO
ACCEPT A PLEA OFFER AND HE IS THEN CONVICTED AFTER A FAIR TRIAL
AND SENTENCED TO A LONGER TERM THAN HE WOULD HAVE RECEIVED
UNDER THE PLEA OFFER.

THE REMEDY IS TO RETURN THE CASE TO THE TRIAL COURT TO RE-OFFER
THE PLEA AGREEMENT AND IF THE DEFENDANT ACCEPTS THE OFFER, THE
TRIAL COURT CAN THEN EXERCISE ITS DISCRETION TO DETERMINE
WHETHER IT WILL ACCEPT THE PLEA AND (1) VACATE THE SENTENCE AND
RESENTENCE IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PLEA; OR (2) TO LEAVE THE
CONVICTIONS AND SENTENCES RESULTING FROM THE TRIAL
UNCHANGED; OR (3) TO EXERCISE ITS DISCRETION IN SOME OTHER
MANNER CONSISTENT WITH ITS CONSIDERATION OF THE PLEA
AGREEMENT.

Cooper was charged with assault with intent to murder and three other offenses. The
prosecution offered to dismiss two of the charges and recommend a 51-to-85-month
sentence in exchange for Cooper’s guilty plea. Cooper had informed the court that he
wanted to admit his guilt and accept the offer. But Cooper changed his mind on the
advice of counsel, who convinced Cooper that the prosecution would be unable to prove
his intent to murder because the victim was shot below the waist. He therefore rejected
the offer and went to trial, was convicted on all counts, and was issued a mandatory
sentence of 185 to 360 months. The U.S. Supreme Court reviewed this matter after the
conviction was set aside in a federal habeas proceeding.

Missouriv. Frye,  U.S. 132 S.Ct. 1399 (March 21, 2012)

THE RIGHT TO EFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL EXTENDS TO PLEA
OFFERS THAT LAPSE OR ARE REJECTED AND COUNSEL FAILED TO INFORM
THE DEFENDANT OF THE OFFER.

In August 2007, respondent Frye was charged with driving with a revoked license; he had
also been convicted of the same offense on three prior occasions. Frye was thus charged
with a felony carrying a maximum term of four years in prison. The prosecutor sent a
letter to Frye’s attorney offering a choice of two plea bargains, one of which would have
reduced the charge to a misdemeanor. The letter stated that both offers would expire on
December 28, 2007. Frye’s attorney did not advise him of the offers. On December 30,
2007, Frye was again arrested for the same offense. Frye later pleaded guilty to the
August 2007 offense without the benefit of a plea bargain and was sentenced to three
years in prison, which was the higher of the two plea offers originally made. Frye
petitioned for post-conviction relief in state court, alleging that he would have accepted
the plea offer to the misdemeanor had he known about it. The state court denied the
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petition but the appeals court reversed and remanded to allow Frye either to insist on a
trial or plead guilty to any offense the prosecutor deemed appropriate. The State
petitioned the U.S. Supreme Court. That Court vacated the lower court opinion, because
the lower court did not articulate and apply the correct standard for prejudice.

The Court observed “the reality is that plea bargains have become so central to the
administration of the criminal justice system that defense counsel have responsibilities in
the plea bargain process, responsibilities that must be met to render the adequate
assistance that the Sixth Amendment requires . . . at critical stages.” The Court held that
to show prejudice from ineffective counsel that results in a rejected plea offer, defendants
must show a reasonable probability they would have accepted the earlier offer had they
been given effective assistance and a reasonable probability the plea would have been
entered without the prosecution canceling it or the court refusing to exercise its discretion
to accept it.

Howesv. Fields,  U.S. _ ,132 S.Ct. 1181 (February 21, 2012)

THERE IS NO PER SE RULE REQUIRING A MIRANDA WAIVER TO ADMIT A
STATEMENT TAKEN FROM A PRISONER INCARCERATED ON AN
UNRELATED MATTER

Fields, a Michigan state prisoner, was escorted from his prison cell by a corrections
officer to a conference room where he was questioned by two sheriff’s deputies about
criminal activity unrelated to his current conviction. The subject of the questioning
concerned conduct Fields had allegedly engaged in before coming to prison. At no time
was Fields given Miranda warnings or advised that he did not have to speak with the
deputies. Fields was questioned for between five and seven hours; Fields was told more
than once that he was free to leave and return to his cell; the deputies were armed, but
Fields remained free of restraints; the conference room door was sometimes open and
sometimes shut; several times during the interview Fields stated that he no longer wanted
to talk to the deputies, but he did not ask to go back to his cell; after Fields confessed and
the interview concluded, he had to wait an additional 20 minutes for an escort and
returned to his cell long after the hour when he generally retired.

Fields Motion to Suppress was denied and Fields was convicted of Criminal Sexual
Conduct and that conviction was affirmed on appeal. On federal habeas review the
district court sided with Fields and set aside his conviction and the Sixth Circuit affirmed.
The U.S. Supreme Court reversed giving deference to the state court’s finding based on
the totality of the circumstances.
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Maplesv. Thomas,  U.S. 132 S.Ct. 912 (January 18, 2012)

ABANDONMENT BY COUNSEL WHILE A CONVICTED PERSON’S STATE
POST-CONVICTION APPLICATION WAS PENDING, WILL SERVE AS “CAUSE”
TO EXCUSE THE PROCEDURAL DEFAULT THAT OCCURRED WHEN HE
FAILED TO APPEAL THE DENIAL OF THAT APPLICATION.

Petitioner Cory Maples had been sentenced to death in 1997 in Alabama for murdering
two people. Two young associates from the large New York firm Sullivan & Cromwell
agreed to work with Maples on his post-conviction petition on a pro bono basis. They
associated with local counsel, who conditioned his participation on the agreement that he
would not handle substantive issues. The New York attorneys filed Maples’ petition with
the trial court, claiming ineffective assistance of trial counsel. While the motion was
pending, the two New York attorneys left their firm and, in their new positions, could no
longer represent Maples. They did not, however, notify Maples or the court. When the
Alabama trial court denied Maples’ post-conviction petition, the notices sent to his New
York counsel were returned by the firm’s mail room, unopened. Maples learned his
petition had been denied from an Alabama Assistant Attorney General, who sent him a
letter also informing Maples that he had four weeks to file a federal habeas claim. The
Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals declined Maples’ petition for a writ of mandamus,
finding no fault with the court’s clerk, who had sent the notice denying Maples’ appeal to
all three attorneys of record. Maples filed a federal habeas petition, which the district
court denied because he had procedurally defaulted his claims in state court. The
Eleventh Circuit affirmed. Both courts cited Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722
(1991), which held that “when a petitioner’s post conviction attorney misses a filing
deadline, the petitioner is bound by the oversight and cannot rely on it to establish cause.”
In an opinion by Justice Ginsburg, the Court reversed.

Perry v. New Hampshire,  U.S._ , 132 S.Ct. 2221 (January 11, 2012)

THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE DOES NOT REQUIRE A TRIAL JUDGE TO SCREEN
EYEWITNESS EVIDENCE FOR RELIABILITY PRETRIAL WHEN SUGGESTIVE
CIRCUMSTANCES SURROUNDING THE [IDENTIFICATION WERE NOT
ARRANGED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS.

Police responded to a report that someone was breaking into cars in the parking lot of an
apartment building. The first responding officer, Officer Clay, encountered Perry in the
parking lot holding two car stereo amplifiers, which Perry stated he found on the ground.
Officer Clay asked Perry to remain in the parking lot with a second officer, while she
went to interview the reporting person’s wife, Nubia Blandon. Blandon stated that
through her kitchen window she saw an African-American man take “a big box” from the
trunk of her neighbor’s car. When Clay asked her for a more detailed description of the
man, she “pointed to her kitchen window and said the person she saw breaking into [her
neighbor’s] car was standing in the parking lot, next to the police officer.” Police
arrested Perry. Prior to trial, Perry moved to suppress the identification, arguing it
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violated his due process rights. The trial court denied his motion on the ground that the
identification “did not result from an unnecessarily suggestive procedure ‘manufacture[d]
... by the police.”” The New Hampshire Supreme Court affirmed for the same reason,
rejecting Perry’s argument that the suggestive circumstances alone triggered the court’s
duty to assess the reliability of the identification before it could be presented to the jury.
The U.S. Supreme Court affirmed.

Smithv. Cain, __ U.S._,132S.Ct. 627 (January 10, 2012)

BRADY V. MARYLAND, 373 U.S. 83 (1963), REQUIRES PROSECUTORS TO
TURN OVER TO THE DEFENSE STATEMENTS BY THE SINGLE EYEWITNESS
WHO LINKED PETITIONER TO THE CRIME THAT CALLED INTO QUESTION
THE RELIABILITY OF THAT IDENTIFICATION.

Smith had been convicted of five counts of first degree murder for taking part in a
robbery in which he and two other gunmen entered a home intending to steal money and
drugs, began shooting, and killed five people. Three victims survived, including one who
escaped, one who hid, and one eyewitness (Larry Boatner) who identified Smith and
testified he was face-to-face with Smith during the first few moments of the robbery. In
pursuing his post-conviction appeals, Smith obtained police files related to the
investigation. Those files contained notes written by the detective from the night of the
crime stating that the Boatner “could not . . . supply a description of the perpetrators other
then [sic] they were black males,” and notes from five nights after the crime stating that
Boatner ““could not ID anyone because [he] couldn’t see faces’ and ‘would not know
them if [he] saw them.”” A report by the same detective stated that Boatner “could not
identify any of the perpetrators of the murder.” The witness’s “testimony was the only
evidence linking Smith to the crime” and the “undisclosed statements directly contradict
his testimony.”

The state post-conviction court denied Smith’s Brady claim, and the Louisiana Court of
Appeals and Louisiana Supreme Court denied review. The Supreme Court reversed.
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Appendix D

Notable Alabama Appellate Cases Concerning Sentencing
2011-2012

Reese v. State, CR-10-1220, 2012 WL 415464 (Ala. Crim. App. February 10, 2012)

A PRISONER REVOKED FROM SERVING A SENTENCE TO COMMUNITY
CORRECTIONS DOES NOT QUALIFY AS A TECHNICAL VIOLATOR FOR
PURPOSES OF LIMITING THE RESULTING INCARCERATION.

Reese was sentenced to serve 15 years in community corrections. Community
Corrections was not made a condition of probation. While under community corrections
supervision, Reese violated the ban on electronic media devices and was charged with
Promoting Prison Contraband and was revoked to serve the remainder of his term in
prison. Reese appealed claiming he was entitled to be treated as a technical violator and
that he was entitled to a revocation hearing. The Court of Criminal Appeals affirmed as
to the technical violator issue because Reese’s sentence did not include probation but
reversed as to the requirement of a revocation hearing.

Johnson v. State, CR-10-11590, 2011 WL 6278309 (Ala. Crim. App. Dec. 16, 2011)

UPON CONVICTION AND SENTENCE A DEFENDANT IS ENTITLED TO CREDIT
FOR TIME SERVED ON DISMISSED CHARGES ARISING OUT OF THE SAME
INCIDENT FOR WHICH HE WAS CONVICTED.

Johnson was involved in a vehicle crash in July 2007. He was indicted for one count of
Assault 1% and two counts of Assault 2", That indictment was nolle prossed in March
2010. The same day of that dismissal, Johnson was arrested on a new indictment for
three counts of Assault 2". Johnson was in and out of jail on bonds and an FTA warrant
under both indictments. He pled guilty to two counts of Assault 2™ and one count of
Assault 3. The circuit court ordered credit for time served but denied him credit for the
time he was incarcerated on the first indictment. Johnson appealed. The Court of
Criminal Appeals reversed holding Johnson was entitled to credit for all time served
arising out of the incident.
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Gomillion v. State, CR-08-1062, 2011 WL 6279027 (Ala. Crim. App. Dec. 16, 2011)

A GUILTY PLEA DOES NOT SERVE AS EITHER AN IMPLIED OR EXPLICIT
AJUDICATION OF GUILT

Gomillion pled guilty in County #1 to three charges of Robbery in the first degree. The
record contains neither a formal adjudication nor a sentence. Six months later, he was
arrested in County #2 on charges of Burglary in the first degree and Burglary in the third
degree committed after the entry of the guilty. A year later, he again pled guilty in county
#1 to the same Robbery first degree charges and was sentenced. Two months after this
plea and sentence, Gomillion was convicted of Burglary in the first degree and burglary
in the third degree in County #2. At sentencing, the circuit court in County #2 found that
Robbery in the first degree convictions in County #1 were prior convictions for purposes
of the Habitual Felony Offender Act and sentenced Gomillion as a habitual felony
offender to Life Without Parole. The Court of Criminal Appeals reversed holding there
was no implied or explicit adjudication of guilt or conviction in County #1 prior to the
charges in County #2.

McCary v. State, CR-10-0863, 2011 WL 6278307 (Ala. Crim. App. Dec. 16, 2011)

ELIGIBILITY FOR PAROLE IS A FACTOR THAT MUST BE INCLUDED IN THE
SENTENCING INFORMATION THE DEFENDANT MUST UNDERSTAND IN
ORDER TO ENTER AN INFORMED AND VOLUNTARY PLEA OF GUILT WHERE
THE DEFENDANT IS SENTENCED TO LIFE.

McCary was charged with Sodomy in the first degree involving a victim under 12 years
of age, an offense for which the defendant is by statute not eligible for parole or
probation. McCary agreed to plead guilty to Sodomy in the first degree and to accept a
life sentence. McCary later filed a Rule 32 Petition challenging his guilty plea as
involuntary, claiming that he did not know § 15-22-27.3 made him ineligible for parole
and he was not informed of that direct consequence of his plea and agreement, a life
without parole rather than a life sentence. The trial court denied the petition and McCary
appealed. The Court of Criminal Appeals reversed.
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Goodson v. State, CR-11-0209, 2012 WL 1450538 (Ala. Crim. App. April 27, 2012)

A DEFENDANT HAS THE RIGHT TO ACCEPT OR REJECT PROBATION AND A
SPLIT SENTENCE

Goodson pled guilty to Burglary 3™. The circuit court sentenced him to 10 years split to
serve 3 years with 5 years probation upon release. Goodson filed a motion rejecting the
probation and split sentence. The circuit court denied the motion. Goodson appealed.
The Court of Criminal Appeals reversed and remanded for resentencing.

Ex parte State (In re: State v. Utley), CR-11-0244, 2012 WL 1450535 (Ala. Crim. App.
April 27, 2012)

A TRIAL COURT MAY ENTERTAIN AN APPLICATION FOR PROBATION FILED
AT ANY TIME AFTER CONVICTION AND BEFORE THE COURT LOSES
JURISDICTION TO MODIFY THE SENTENCE (30 DAYS AFTER SENTENCE IS
IMPOSED) OR BEFORE THE EXECUTION OF SENTENCE.

Utley pled guilty to one count Enticing a Child for Immoral Purposes and two counts of
Transmitting Obscene Material. The circuit court denied his request for probation on July
5, 2011, and sentenced him to concurrent 3-year terms in prison. On July 22, 2011, Utley
filed a notice of appeal. On August 4, 2011, Utley filed a motion for an appeal bond and a
motion to reconsider probation. The circuit court denied Utley’s second probation
request on August 19, 2011. At Utley’s request, the Court of Criminal Appeals dismissed
his appeal on September 29, 2011. Utley then filed another motion for reconsideration.
The circuit court granted Utley’s third request for probation filed more than 30 days after
the original sentence was pronounced and after the execution of sentence had begun. The
State filed a petition for mandamus in the Court of Criminal Appeals. The Court of
Criminal Appeals granted the petition for mandamus and noted that, while the State had
not filed a petition to stay the probation order, a stay was not necessary because the
court’s order granting probation was void, having been entered after the trial court had
lost jurisdiction.
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State v. Brand, CR-10-0376, 2012 WL 6278302 (Ala. Crim. App. Dec. 16, 2011)

TWENTY YEAR SENTENCES, SPLIT TO SERVE 5 YEARS FOR EACH
CONVICTION WITH THE REMAINDER OF EACH ON PROBATION UPON
RELEASE MAY BE MADE CONSECUTIVE EVEN THOUGH THE TOTAL SPLIT
EXCEEDS THE 5 YEAR MAXIMUM SPECIFIED IN § 15-18-8(A)(1).

Brand pled guilty to two counts of Sexual Abuse 1. He received sentences of 20 years
split to serve 5 years in prison and 10 years probation upon release. The circuit court did
not specify that the sentences were to be served concurrent, so by default, the sentences
were treated as consecutive. He filed a Rule 32 petition claiming his sentences were
illegal because they exceeded what was allowed under Alabama law. The circuit court
summarily dismissed the petition. The Court of Criminal Appeals affirmed.
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Appendix E

Section 15-22-54.1 Petition Form, Order for Production Form
and Order of Resentencing
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State of Alabama Petition for Resentencing Pursuant to §15-22-54.1 | Case Number
Unified Judicial System ] . g .
(Technical Violation of Probation)* _Cc20__- 1

Form CR-63 Rev.5/2010

File With the Circuit Clerk of County Where Sentencing Occurred

In the Court of , Alabama
(Circuit or District) (Name of County)

State of Alabama v. , Defendant.

Full Name of Defendant/Petitioner Case Number,

Inmate AlS# Sentence

County of Conviction Sentencing Judge

Offense(s) at Conviction

Date of Original Sentence Date Probation Revoked

Date Admitted to ADOC for Probation Violation

Name of Attorney at Trial Name of Current Attorney

Comes now the defendant in the above styled case and petitions this Court pursuant to §15-22-54.1, Code of Alabama (1975), to
reconsider the sentence previously imposed by the Court as a result of revocation of probation. The petitioner swears that
the revocation of probation was the result of only a technical violation(s) of probation (a violation that was not a new offense). The
petitioner further submits that this Court has jurisdiction to resentence the petitioner, and swears and affirms as follows:

1. At the time of the technical violation, that the petitioner had successfully completed the terms of
probation, including remaining current on payment of court ordered money, fora consecutive six (6) month period;

2. That the probation was thereafter revoked and the petitioner was sentenced to the penitentiary only as a result of
technical violation(s) of probation;

3. That the petitioner has had no disciplinary infractions while serving the sentence in the
penitentiary; and

4. That the petitioner has no pending charges or convictions for a new offense.
1 do hereby solemnly swear and affirm that the information provided in this petition is true and correct to the best of my

knowledge. 1understand that any intentional falsification of the information presented in this Petition may subject me to the penalties
of perjury, which could include further imprisonment and further fines.

Sworn and subscribed before me this Signature of Petitioner

day of .20

Date

Notary Public

* Pursuant to §15-22-54.1(a), no filing fee is required for the filing of this petition




State of Alabama Order of Production for Resentencing Pursuant Case Number
Unified Judicial System
to §15-22-54.1 _c20__ - 1
Form CR-63A Rev.5/2010 (Technical Violation of Probation)
In the Court of , Alabama
(Circuit or District) {Name of County)
State of Alabama v. , Defendant.

Defendant's AlS #

This cause being before this Court upon petition of the defendant seeking resentencing pursuant to Act 2010-753
codified at Section 15-22-54.1, Code of Alabama (1975), which allows certain offenders revoked from
probation only on technical violations and , as a result thereof, currently serving a prison sentence, to have their
sentence resulting from the revocation modified. Pursuant to this Act, the sentencing court is vested with the
authority to make the determination of whether an inmate is eligible for consideration for resentencing. Eligibility
specifically depends on the fact that the inmate have no disciplinary infractions while serving the sentence in the
penitentiary, have no pending charges or convictions for a new offense, and have successfully completed the terms
of probation for six months prior to revocation of probation.

THEREFORE, the Court orders as follows:

1. The Board of Pardons and Paroles is hereby ordered to submit to this Court a current pre-sentence
investigation report within 30 days of the date from this order. The report shall show any new and
pending charges or convictions for a new offense, and shall specify whether probation in the underlying
case was revoked due to a technical violation. The Board shall also provide the court with
information pertaining to the defendant's payment history showing whether the petitioner has or
has not remained current on payment of court ordered monies;

2. The Alabama Department of Corrections ("ADOC") is hereby ordered to submit to the Court a
verified ADOC inmate summary or an affidavit showing the following information pertaining to the
above petitioner:

A. Admission date to ADOC;
8. Time served on probation revocation;

C. Number of any escapes or attempted escapes;

D. Disciplinary infractions committed by the petitioner while serving the current sentence and the
specific rule violations which resulted in the discipline; and

E. Any new offenses committed while in DOC custody.

The Clerk shall serve a copy of this order upon the defendant, ADOC, the Board of Pardons and Paroles, and
the District Attorney for this Circuit.

DONE AND ORDERED on this the day of , 20

Circuit/District Judge




State of Alabama ' . Case Number
Unified Judicial System Order on Defendant's Petition for Resentencing
Pursuant to §15-22-54.1/Act 2010-753 _Cc20___- 1
Form CR-638 Rev.5/2010 (Technical Violation of Probation)
In the Court of , Alabama
(Circuit or District) (Name of County)
State of Alabama v. , Defendant.

WHEREAS, the above-named defendant has petitioned this Court for resentencing under Act 2010-753 codified at §15-22-54.1,
Code of Alabama (1975), and said law entitles eligible offenders to be resentenced upon filing of a petition for modification of sen-
tence to the sentencing court; and whereas the Court has received and reviewed the petition of the defendant, the Court
finds that (check one):

J This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to §15-22-54.1, Code of Alabama (1975). The petitioner meets all of
the following criteria required by the statute:

1. The petitioner is nonviolent offender;

2. The petitioner was sentenced by this Court;

3. The petitioner had successfully completed the terms of probation, including remaining current on payment
of court ordered money, for a consecutive six (6) month period;

4. Probation was thereafter revoked, and the petitioner is currently serving a prison sentence
based on revocation of probation;

5. The revocation of probation was based on only technical violations;

. The petitioner has had no disciplinary infractions while serving the sentence in the penitentiary; and

. The petitioner has no pending charges or convictions for a new offense.

~N O

Thus, the petition is granted and the petitioner is entitled to be resentenced.

This Court does not have jurisdiction pursuant to §15-22-54.1, Code of Alabama (1975). The petitioner

0 does not meet one or any of the following eligibility requirements required by the statute (check all that apply):
[) The petitioner has been convicted of a violent offense;
[] The petitioner was not sentenced by this Court;
[] The petitioner had not successfully completed the terms of probation for a consecutive six (6) month period

under the current sentence;

The petitioner has not remained current on payment of court ordered money;

The petitioner is currently serving a prison sentence based on a reason other than revocation of probation;
The revocation of probation was based on violations other than technical violations;

The petitioner has had disciplinary infractions while serving the sentence in the penitentiary; or

The petitioner has pending charges or convictions for a new offense.

r— e —
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Thus, the petition is denied.

DONE AND ORDERED on this the day of , 20

Circuit/District Judge





lSJta_tf? ZfJA'gPéa”I’g t Petition for Resentencing Pursuant to §15-22-54.1 | Case Number
nified Judicial System ) . . .
(Technical Violation of Probation)* _C20__ - 1

Form CR-63 Rev.5/2010 File With the Circuit Clerk of County Where Sentencing Occurred

In the Court of , Alabama

(Circuit or District) (Name of County)
State of Alabama v. , Defendant.

Full Name of Defendant/Petitioner Case Number

Inmate AIS# Sentence

County of Conviction Sentencing Judge

Offense(s) at Conviction

Date of Original Sentence Date Probation Revoked

Date Admitted to ADOC for Probation Violation

Name of Attorney at Trial Name of Current Attorney

Comes now the defendant in the above styled case and petitions this Court pursuant to §15-22-54.1, Code of Alabama (1975), to
reconsider the sentence previously imposed by the Court as a result of revocation of probation. The petitioner swears that
the revocation of probation was the result of only a technical violation(s) of probation (a violation that was not a new offense). The
petitioner further submits that this Court has jurisdiction to resentence the petitioner, and swears and affirms as follows:

1. At the time of the technical violation, that the petitioner had successfully completed the terms of
probation, including remaining current on payment of court ordered money, fora consecutive six (6) month period;

2. That the probation was thereafter revoked and the petitioner was sentenced to the penitentiary only as a result of
technical violation(s) of probation;

3. That the petitioner has had no disciplinary infractions while serving the sentence in the
penitentiary; and

4, That the petitioner has no pending charges or convictions for a new offense.
| do hereby solemnly swear and affirm that the information provided in this petition is true and correct to the best of my

knowledge. | understand that any intentional falsification of the information presented in this Petition may subject me to the penalties
of perjury, which could include further imprisonment and further fines.

Sworn and subscribed before me this Signature of Petitioner

day of ,20
Date

Notary Public

* Pursuant to §15-22-54.1(a), no filing fee is required for the filing of this petition







